We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not authentic and not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ethiopic Restaurant

Ethiopic Restaurant
401 H St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4677
202-675-2066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ethiopic Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #217 of 2,699 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Ethiopic Restaurant focuses on Ethiopian cuisine and culture. Traditional Ethiopian ingredients are introduced to evoke the true taste of Ethiopia. Ethiopic’s authentic Ethiopian food menu will feature vegetarian, meat, poultry, and fish. Ethiopic Restaurant is proud to be the first Ethiopian Restaurant on the H Street Corridor and intends to cater to a wide customer base. We want everyone to feel welcome and entertained.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not authentic and not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

In a city that has an amazing selection of Ethiopian food, you would think that Ethiopic would try harder. No dark, full-teff injera (unless you call ahead so that they can pick it up from a real Ethiopian restaurant--no joke!). They bring out a "western"-style bread basket before the meal (seriously?). The spread on either of the platters is fine, but nothing special. It actually seemed a bit bland and too much oil. The restaurant charges more for less taste, less truth in the food. Not worth a premium just because it's on H Street.

If you want a better choice, go to Enat or Etete and spend less! Or just go to Little Ethiopia in the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Turns out I don't like Ethiopian food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the parts of our trip that I was very excited about was trying a different type of food each night... and I really wanted to like Ethiopian food, but I just don't. My boyfriend loved it though. We got a sampler that had beef and chicken dishes on it. The staff was very nice and our waitress did a good job of explaining things to us. I wouldn't go back again though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Listen I'm as adventurous as the next person, so when we ended up here it was NBD... If you can get past no silverware and digging in with your hands please try.

Tons of beef options and vegetarian also. Fish was a little weird but the salads were good. They use jalapeños in everything so beware. Overall I would go again. The area is ok and the restaurant itself was clean.

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Upscale Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Seems like a contradiction in terms but this is a very nice upscale Ethiopian restaurant that keeps with the traditions. We had the sampler platter and enjoyed everything they brought to us. For a change of pace this is a really fun and unique place to go.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was on business in DC and invited by an Intern to this restaurant at the last minute and we walked in on a Monday and were asked if we had reservations. We said no (not thinking Monday would be a problem). They seated us though and it did fill quickly and we could see why. The food was awesome. We both split the Lamb Tibs (absolutely succulent)and a Vegetarian Sampler and were stuffed to the maximum and the tab was less than 50 bucks....for Washington DC? And for this quality of service and food? Unbelievable. Do try. Do try. I will be back when I am there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethiopic Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ethiopic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethiopic Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.