We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's-a-nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmine's

Carmine's
425 7th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
12027377770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmine's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #182 of 2,562 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between E and D street on 7th street
Transit: Metro Trains information. .14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right. .21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co
Description: Carmine's is a family style restaurant offering exceptional value to its guests through the many dishes of Southern Italian cuisine. The Carmine's concept is to bring its guests a "wow-factor" sized portions and making any meal feel like an Italian American wedding feast. Platters of homestyle antipasto, pasta, decadent seafood or meat entrees, and of course homemade desserts are all staples at Carmine's, meant for sharing amongst friends and family. When great food and wine are supported by friendly and knowledgeable service, the results are magic - we want every day to feel like a Sunday afternoon at Grandma's.
Seacoast NH
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“That's-a-nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stopped in for dinner mid-week without a reservation and found the place to be quite busy. We only waited a short time and were seated in a nicely appointed dining room with attentive waiters and bus staff. The food seems expensive at first glance but you have to account for the idea that it is all served family style and you pay by the bowl. Started off with cocktails for the adults and Pellegrino for the kids. We had a nice green salad, some spaghetti, ravioli and an order of meatballs. We never got any bread, not sure if they forgot it or we had to order some but it was not a big issue. Everything was very good and we topped it off with some cannolis for dessert. With tax & tip we got out the door for around $120 for the five of us. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. Honored we got to have your family for dinner. Hope to have you again soon. Mangia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    214
    107
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Is That A Chain I Smell?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

If you like over-the-top Italian chains like Buca di Peppo and (to a lesser extent) Maggiano's, you'll like Carmine's. All three have plenty of Sinatra photos gracing the walls and Dean Martin classics playing so you know it's true Italian.

But like the other two chains, Carmine's has quite good food and handles large parties well. So you won't be disappointed by food or service. But if you're looking for a romantic spot with exceptional food, try a smaller, non-chain restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hope to have you again soon. Mangia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always good Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We were with a small group that has gone to the NYC location numerous times and never had a bad meal. Very pleased to see that the DC location holds to the same standards not only in regards to the food but to the pleasant and attentive wait staff as well. The wine list is not extensive but carefully selected with a good representation of various Italian varietals at reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your great review and being a loyal Carmine's customer. Mangia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the Meatballs!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

So good.... I was riding the Hop on Hop off bus (having skipped breakfast) and one of the guides started to talk about the Meatballs at Carmine's..... Three stops later I was off the bus and made my way directly to Carmine's for their meatballs and rigatoni. So good. I was stuffed but very a happy tourist and barely managed a salad for dinner! food is served family style so portions are huge - but if you are with a crowd that let's you share. I would highly recommend and will return next time I am in DC.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and happy you got to experience Carmine's. We also have locations, NYC, Bahamas, Vegas, Atlantic City, or Washington DC and hope to have you again. Mangia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great for Groups - Second Visit and Awesome Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We have been here twice and it was really great. Servers were awesome, but very different each time. We had a very boisterous and funny waiter the first time. The second was a quiet waiter, but was very attentive and helpful. You do have to be careful when order at this place. You can easily order way too much food. The cold antipasti platter is huge! The Chicken Marsala is also very good.

Wait times can be very long, but they are on OpenTable so make a reservation if you can. Also, if a small group, be careful not to over order or you will be carrying a big to go bag out of the restaurant. Also, the place is very large and noisy. This bothers some people, not our family with little children, so be prepared.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer W, Manager at Carmine's, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and visiting us more than once. Carmine's does have a celebratory feel. Hope we can have your family again soon. Mangia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Carmine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.