We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmine's

Carmine's
425 7th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
(202) 737-7770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmine's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 2,495 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: between E and D street on 7th street
Transit: Metro Trains information. .14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right. .21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co
Description: This restaurant has only been open a couple of weeks. It should be very popular, as it is part of the Carmine's chain.
Phenix City, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here as part of a school trip to the D.C. area. They did an excellent job serving the 160 of us that were there to eat. The food was wonderful and the portion size was plenty and was a good value. Would love to eat here again if I am ever back in the D.C. area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    191
    95
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy broccoli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Any time your 9 year old raves about the vegetables, it's a no brainer that you'll go back. Also love the Chicken Marsala. But on one occasion the broccoli was not fresh. Since then, they've been great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good quality for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent restaurant in the hearth of Washington business center. The portions are huge: one dish is more than enough for 2-3 people. We went for dinner 3 times in a row and tasted different plates. Delicious even for my Italian's husband who is very critic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Carmine's serves the usual Italian dishes, no surprises. Except that 2 people dining together have to share a very large dish rather than ordering separately! But the price is reasonable.

The wine list is also s--so, and when I ordered grappas after dinner I was not offered a choice. Also I did not like the small table we were assigned, in a drafty area, when several larger tables were available.; (It was quite late, about 8:00 pm, when we arrived, so there is no way they were holding those for other guests).

But our veal parmigiano with spaghetti was tasty and 2 big men had trouble finishing their plates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I will not be returning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went on a Thursday night with two others. One of those in my party could not stop raving about this place so I was excited. I love chain Italian places, hello Olive Garden so I figured this was right up my alley. Let's start with we were seated we had reservations at a table for eight people. It took twenty minutes for someone to even come and take our drink order or greet us. We had some sort of salad, that had canned tomatoes and was all lettuce cores. The Rigatoni with meatballs was fine, nothing special though. The bread in the basket tasted like it came out of the fridge it was so cold and hard. We actually wanted to eat dessert but the waiter did not come for another 20 minutes after providing the dessert menu and by that time it was getting late. Once we ordered the food did come quickly though that was the one bright spot. This is a very touristy location and it was packed with tourist groups of children, so very loud, had to yell to talk. There was a line of 30 people waiting in a group when we were leaving to get in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Carmine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.