We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best tours we've ever taken--anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walk of the Town

Walk of the Town
Washington DC, DC 20560
240-672-6306
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk of the Town is DC's most memorable walking tour! Explore Washington DC the way it was meant to be seen:on foot! Let superb storyteller and licensed DC tour guide Tim lead you on a FREE tour of DC!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best tours we've ever taken--anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Others have said it all, and I can only second their enthusiasm.

Tim is informative, attentive to his group, a master at presentation and managing a moving group, all the while maintaining a relaxed manner. He is genuinely interested in sharing and relating to his group. Over 50 years of traveling, I have not seen anyone more skilled at leading and informing a tour group.

If all you do in Washington is take this tour, it will have been a worthwhile visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    20
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I took this tour today, it was great and covered all the key monuments in DC. It was an extremely cold day and I was pleased to find a tour the day after the inauguration, when many were booked out/unavailable.

Tim is friendly, engaging and very knowledgable about facts and history in the town. He went above and beyond what I expected of a guide - offering to take pictures of us, suggesting unique shots and provided maps and other souvenirs. There were also more than adequate restroom stops...which is essential on an outdoor walking tour.

The tour was just long enough. You covered all the monuments at an easy pace with plenty of time to take in each one and get pictures. Tim offered interesting information about each place we visited and I know the area much better for it. He even suggested other locations to visit outside his tour (including restaurants and sites) and the best routes to take when departing the tour.

Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible Washington Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Tim was terrific! We met Tim on a freezing day in Washington. It was amazing that he was even there. Tim then took us on the most incredible journey around the major Washington monuments. The tour was so informative and fun. Tim gave us knowledge of the people and the monuments that you would not know by just walking around the monuments by yourself. The tour was full of laughs and photo opportunities and he even gave us some chocolates to keep us going. One of the highlights of our USA trip. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was a great tour to see many monuments in DC. Tim the tour guide was very friendly, engaging, and full of knowledge. He allowed plenty of time for photos with suggestions for getting some unique shots and would even take pictures of us. Don't hesitate to take this tour. I am so glad I read all the wonderful reviews and took advantage of this opportunity. Like others have said, he only works for tips and only mentions this once; no pressure. Thank you Tim for sharing your wealth of knowledge and making it interesting!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first day in DC,took my wife and two teenage kids along for the tour ,I was worried they would not enjoy it but like me they loved it .Tim was really friendly and informative ,explaining the monuments in an easy to handle .Would recommend this FREE tour to anyone and everyone 5 STAR

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk of the Town also viewed

 

Been to Walk of the Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walk of the Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.