We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent tour of Washington sites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walk of the Town

Walk of the Town
Washington DC, DC 20560
240-672-6306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 157 Activities in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk of the Town is DC's most memorable walking tour! Explore Washington DC the way it was meant to be seen:on foot! Let superb storyteller and licensed DC tour guide Tim lead you on a FREE tour of DC!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent tour of Washington sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

After reading about this tour on tripadvisor.com we felt it would be an excellent way to see and find out more about the major Washington monuments. We were not disappointed. Tim, our tour guide was excellent - enthusiastic, engaging and very informative. He gave us lots of information about the sites, and insights about the area. He was very knowledgeable about each monument that he took us to, and brought each site alive with his stories. He even had snack for us!

In summary an excellent walking tour of the major Washington memorials on the mall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
French in the UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Definitely a must-do !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I promised Tim that I would give my review on Tripadvisor so here I am ! What a delightful experience it was ! We took the tour on Saturday Oct.13th, started at 10:00am from Constitution Avenue, right at the bottom of the Washington Monument and with a clear view of the White House. The weather was unbelievable, but more importantly, the tour was so great ! Tim is such a great tour guide, he certainly knows his facts, he's an incredible source of information (I never heard him say "well, I don't know") and he succeeded in making this a funny moment ! You certainly have to walk a bit (make sure you wear appropriate shoes btw!) but it's because there's so much to see. I have nothing to complain about, as even if my wife and I were with our baby son in his pushchair, we never felt like a burden, Tim always made sure we were never left behind. Plus, all the monuments have lifts/wheelchair access. Tim, you're the best ! You definitely deserve your ranking on Tripadvisor !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best background! Best insights! Best tour! BEST GUIDE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We loved every step on this wonderful information chocked "walk-about" DC. Tim is the consummate guide, font of interesting facts & information and delightful humorist. He involved us as participants in the tour, engaging us in trivia along the way. He even provided gorgeous weather! Not sure how he arranged for it, but we just happened to see a fly over the White House by Marine One! What more could you ask for!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an October morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wear your comfortable walking shoes - and get ready for a great tour. Tim was a wonderful host and shared his considerable knowledge and humor with our group. This is a perfect way to visit the monuments and memorials.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“walking tour of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I had the privalege of taking the Walk on the Town with Tim on 10/12/2012, it was awesome! Tim is knowledgable energetic and truly seems to love what he does. We had a great time, we got a litle hungry 3/4 of the way into it but Tim even suppiled a little snack to keep us going. It was a great experience getting the histor ybehind each of the monuments made it so much more meaningful- this tour is a must do!
Thanks
Annie and Michael from Wilmington NC

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk of the Town also viewed

 

Been to Walk of the Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walk of the Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.