We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walk of the Town

Walk of the Town
Washington DC, DC 20560
240-672-6306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 158 Activities in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk of the Town is DC's most memorable walking tour! Explore Washington DC the way it was meant to be seen:on foot! Let superb storyteller and licensed DC tour guide Tim lead you on a FREE tour of DC!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A great tour which really gives you info past what you see. Highly recommended. Don't be discouraged with the length of the tour time; alot of it is standing, listening and learning. All presented in a pleasant and funny manner

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    17
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Monumental sTOURies Tour - Great Experience for Everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

You will not be disappointed! We read the reviews before visiting DC and decided to attend the Monumental sTOURies Tour with Tim on a Friday morning. The tour was great!

Tim really did a great job of explaining relevant details and interesting facts about the memorials and places we visited on the tour. He walked at a good pace, we had a family with a small baby in our group during the tour and he made sure to help point them to restrooms and ramps for the stroller. Tim also gave us time at the memorials for reflection.

He is a very nice man, a retired teacher and has a good sense of humor. We saw a lot in the few hours with him, The Lincoln Memorial, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial, Korean War Veterans Memorial, and so much more! Interesting info some tour guides may overlook (controversies, personal facts about people involved in the making of monuments, etc) he provided on this tour. In fact, I was able to answer a question I overheard someone (who was not in our tour group) ask their friends at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial because of what we learned on the tour moments before. They much appreciated it! The only regret is not recommending Walk of the Town to them :) Hope you enjoy the tour as much as we did!

...as a side note guys, if while in DC you have the time we HIGHLY recommend taking a few hours one day to tour the US Holocaust Memorial Museum. It is incredibly well done, reverent and worth going (they have a kids section also)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is possibly the best walking tour we've been on in either the US or Europe. Tim is knowledgeable, personable, engaging and interested in his clients. We went on several other tours in DC, but this is the best of the lot and all you really need.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Walk of the town - talk of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We've done a few walking tours in our time, but none like Tim's Walk of the Town tour. Tim makes everything very interesting, including a heap of US history to three Australian travellers, including out 13 year old son. There was so much information shared, there's no way you would know from visiting these sights on your own. Take snacks to nibble on as you go around as the 10am tour runs through lunchtime, and don't forget water. Tim works on tips only and we paid more than what we thought we would, he's that good. Walking away at the end, after nearly 4 hours, the 13 year old said to me "that was really good actually". Bravo Tim.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“It Has all Been Said Previously”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

No wonder this tour is No. 1 in D.C. Tim is marvellous , a walking encyclopedia as far as Washington Monuments and Memorials. I learnt so much in the 3.5 hours we spent with him. He deserves all the accolades he is receiving on Trip Advisor. Well done.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk of the Town also viewed

 

Been to Walk of the Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walk of the Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.