We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peering Back Into American History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The President Woodrow Wilson House

The President Woodrow Wilson House
2340 S Street, NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
202 387 4062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only presidential museum in D.C., the well-preserved former house of Woodrow Wilson.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Peering Back Into American History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tucked away in Embassy Row, this museum is a great little secret amongst the other crowded museums. My husband and I arrived just after opening on a Sunday & were privileged to be a part of only a group of 4 in the tour. The tour takes about an hour & begins with a very short clip in the gentleman's parlor. Our tour guide was excellent & very interesting. The tour gave me a glimpse into what kind of person Woodrow Wilson was. Definitely worth visiting. I wish I had done the tour sooner after all the visits I have taken to DC! The fee is $10/adult ($8/senior, $5/student) & there is a small museum store near the entrance,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an off-the-beaten-path treasure in Washington, D.C. Our tour guide, Rich Goodwin, was superb. He has great depth of knowledge about Wilson and about the house. He is antecdotal, entertaining and informative. If you like history, he will make it come alive. Well worth the $10 fee in my estimation. There is even a nice little gift shop. The tour lasts for approximately one hour.

For an added bonus, walk around the neighborhood to see the many embassies, consulates and residences of ambassadors to the U.S. that are in the immediate vicinity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Interesting Presidential house tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A lot of houses fall into either the category of "[Famous Person] slept here" or "[Famous Person's] house." This house is neither of those. Woodrow Wilson lived in this house, but for only three years after his presidency was over. As a result, visiting the house informs you mostly about those three years of his life; it is not a comprehensive look at Wilson's life and career.

The most interesting thing about the house is that virtually everything in it was actually owned by Woodrow Wilson and his second wife. There is all sorts of memorabilia, including furniture, photos, artwork, statues, letters, clothing and canes that Wilson acquired (and that was given to him by foreign governments). Wilson's collection of porcelain is especially impressive.

The house itself is architecturally interesting. It does not look especially big from the outside, but with four stories and 28 rooms, it is a small mansion. It was ahead of its time when it was built; one of the first houses with electrical lights. It also has some interesting design elements involving the storage spaces.

There is a guided tour that lasts about 1 hour and costs $10 (discounts are available). The guide shows a brief video introduction about Wilson's life. I assume I am like most people and knew little more about Wilson than that he was President during World War I, so the background detail was very helpful and gave more meaning to the house and how it fit into Wilson's life. The guide is knowledgeable and invites questions about the house and the memorabilia.

Also, while many historic home tours are limited to a few rooms, this tour traverses just about every room on three out of the four floors; only the servant's quarters on the fourth floor are not included in the tour. For this reason, and because the house and its furnishings are in the condition they were in when Wilson was there, I really felt like I had a good sense of what it must have been like when Wilson lived there. If you have any interest in American history, it's worth the small amount of time and money it takes to tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“A glimpse into Wilson's life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A small house museum tucked away north of Dupont Circle, this is a nice respite from the large downtown museums and bustle of tourists. Wilson lived here after the White House and viewing his study gives an intimate feel for what his life must have been like on a much smaller scale than the White House. There's a 15 minute film of his life that helps set the stage for what his last years must have been like after his failure with the League of Nations and his debilitating stroke. Docents lead small groups through the house and garden out back for $10. The museum is open Tuesday to Sunday 10-4.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus ohio
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our last morning in DC, with a little over an hour to "kill", we wandered a few blocks away from our B&B to visit this museum. Really, really surprised by many of the things we learned (I wish American History had been this interesting in HS!) and the collection of personal memorabilia was really impressive.
Our guide knew we were pressed for time, but quickly showed us around and threw in some very interesting stories and facts.
Yes, there is a charge, however...many people drop that at Starbucks every week...or every day for some.
Lovely tour, just go do it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The President Woodrow Wilson House also viewed

 

Been to The President Woodrow Wilson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The President Woodrow Wilson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.