We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Uneven Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Room

Chesapeake Room
501 8th Street SE (Barracks Row), Washington DC, DC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chesapeake Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #943 of 2,699 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Chesapeake Room where our mission is simple… To bring our guest an organic, sustainable & free range dining experience while bringing to life the natural & fresh taste of each season. We have a passion for all that our beautiful Mid-Atlantic waters & farms have to offer & hope you will, too. Our fish and shellfish are local and fresh. Our meat, fowl and game are local and grown humanely. Our interior is hand crafted from the same wood that Les Paul guitars are made from! We have a great patio (enclosed and heated when it's cold) great for parties and alfresco dining. Our Brunch was rated amongst the best by the Washington Post and is a specialty. It all happens in our open kitchen with the Chef creating all our food from scratch. Sports on quietly on our plasma screens at our full bar. A historic restaurant in the middle of Barrack's Row. Thanks for coming!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Uneven Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoy the food here and the drinks are amazing. Yes, as has been noted service is uneven, but it is not as bad as Ted's Bulletin, which is how we discovered The Chesapeake Room in the first place. The brunches here are well worth the effort. Sit outside, it is great!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant terrace on lively 8th St near Capitol Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant dinner on the comfy terrace opening onto lively 8th St near Capitol Hill.
Good to very good food, good choice in the menu, nice wines by the glass, great martinis.
Friendly service - all round a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, fun location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A friend recommended The Chesapeake Room to us for an easy, casual, but excellent dinner on Capitol Hill near Eastern Market. I have to say, I may not have gone into this restaurant without the recommendation. It was a hot, hot Saturday and no diners were on the large outdoor patio area - so no quick peaks at the food as you walk by! It looked more "establishment" than innovative on the outside, although nice dark woods and heavy bar inside -- but the food was absolutely divine!! I had the Shrimp and Grits, which had exquisitely seasoned sauce and the MOST TENDER scallops on the planet! The waiter was very attentive and friendly so we felt like they appreciated our business. Great find for us long-time DC area residents!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“An aura of indifference”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friends and I ate here last year and decided to give the Chesapeake Room another try. Bad call... particularly when there are so many restaurants on Barracks Row on 8th Street. Despite not being busy at all, it took 10 minutes for our waiter to show up for drink orders and another 15 minutes to get our 3 Bloody Marys. Our waiter finally took our orders but wasn't particularly friendly - just an indifferent attitude. 3 chefs manned the grill - surely enough to turn out our simple egg and quiche orders in short order. We faced the kitchen and noticed that 3 plates sat under the warming lights for at least 10 - 15 minutes. Other plates came out and were delivered to other tables, but not ours. We joked that with our luck, the ones that had been sitting up there for so long, were probably ours. Sure enough... they were. I NEVER return my food but I had to draw the line here. Two of 4 of us returned our food becaue it was cold - basic eggs and quiche... the other two were too nice to say anything. The chefs at the grill looked confused and a bit annoyed. How could they not have noticed the plates sitting up there forever?! There is clearly no expeditor here to keep things moving. My seafood omelette was thin and watery with only two discernable pieces of seafood. My companions felt the same about their eggs, quiche and crabcake. To boot, none of the 3 Bloody Marys were consumed as they had a metallic, off, taste. This was a real waste of time and money. But there was one bright spot... the hostess was very nice and after seeing our disappointment of getting a table outside in the heat, she apologized even though it wasn't her fault and worked to find us a table inside. She also cheerfully agreed to turn down the loud music that several customers were complaining about. Although we won't be back, we're hoping that the Chesapeake Room can turn things around. It had such promise! Chef Ramsey where are you?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A+ food, C+ service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stopped for lunch, after searching for parking for a half hour. Menu was excellent for everyone except someone who does not eat seafood. But that's to be expected for a restaurant named after Chesapeake Bay. My wife, who loves seafood, had the crab soup which she described as delicious. I had the chicken sandwich, which was very good for a seafood restaurant. So we were happy with the food, but can't say the same for the service. We ordered the food but no drinks. Got our water and did not see our waitress again for 20 minutes. It took another twenty minutes after that to get our food . and then another 20 minutes to get our bill. The bottom line is that the food was very good but do not come unless you have plenty of time, which most people do not have at lunch. Consider that when you have to be somewhere after lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Room also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Chesapeake Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.