We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE WAITER/ GOOD FOOD/ PRICEY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ping Pong Dim Sum

Ping Pong Dim Sum
900 7th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Downtown / Chinatown)
(202) 506-3740
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ping Pong Dim Sum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #466 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: Eye Street
Transit: Chinatown Gallery Place Metro one black away from 7th Street
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
“RUDE WAITER/ GOOD FOOD/ PRICEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food was great, although all their food is significantly smaller in size than traditional dim sum and the restaurant does not offer dim sum cart service. For dim sum its fairly pricey and since the food is so small you need to spend alot more money to be satisfied. We really enjoyed the food but we had a flamboyant male waiter who was very rude. My plate was dirty and I politely asked for it to be replaced and he rolled his eyes and SNATCHED it from my hands. When we were done dining he threw our bill down on the table and then when he came back from charging our credit card, he then threw the credit card down the table and walked away - no parting greeting or thanks for our patronage etc - nothing. We wouldnt dine there again because this waiter ruined the experience - he was just too rude to deserve our money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    52
    93
    44
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love dim sum brunch at ping pong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Perfect place for brunch. There is an all you can eat dim sum formula for 25$.
It's a lot of fun to interact with friends, taste all different kinds of dim sum, you order as you go.
And very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience with friends, but can get pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was my first experience with dim sum and the waitress was VERY patient with me to explain how it works and she gave descriptions and suggestions based on what I like to eat: steak, veggies and chicken. I also was able to try some very exotic drinks like one with roses in it. I must say it was fantastic. The overall experience was a lot of fun for the three of us and it really a great way to spend time together, but beware!, even thought the items appear cheaply priced, the bill can quickly add up when you add up 5-7 items with drinks. I would certainly do this again in a heartbeat, but I would just pay a little more attention to the prices on each individual item.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We went with a group of 4 people for the Sunday $25 dim sum special. We sampled many different dim sums and desert is included. It is a great value or your money.

It is quality food and a nice atmosphere. The drinks and teas were excellent and will be back next time our travels allow.

Fun time and good for 2 or more people.

Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a British chain with a "healthier" take on traditional Chinese Dim Sum.

We took a chance on Sunday Morning based on reviews our daughter had read and comments from her colleagues. We are soooo glad we did.

Great staff, knew a lot about the menu and drinks, and served efficiently.

Indeed, the food was a bit lighter and not at all greasy or oily, even the fried foods! They have an excellent selection, and an innovative and unusual "sampler" menu. Each of us ordered from the available sampler menus, and we were very impressed. The selection was interesting, and included things we knew from 40 years of eating Dim Sum, and some innovative twists. This was one of the best, if not THE best Dim Sum we have had.

Thank you Ping Pong for crossing the big pea.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ping Pong Dim Sum also viewed

 

Been to Ping Pong Dim Sum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ping Pong Dim Sum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.