We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, sloppy and indifferent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ted's Bulletin

Ted's Bulletin
505 8th Street SE, Washington DC, DC (Capitol Hill)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ted's Bulletin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Washington DC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Poor service, sloppy and indifferent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a local on The Hill I've given this place a few tries- the space is cool, the menu is down to earth and homey, but the service is astonishingly poor. It's like no one really cares if you are there or not.

Is there a manager? There is certainly no owner.

I went last night for adult milkshakes after a birthday dinner nearby. We waited 20 minutes for water. We got up to get it ourselves and the wait staff was snippy and gave us stink eye the rest of the night. Oh- and it was not crowded. It was 9pm on a Wednesday and maybe 6 tables were full. Then we waited another 20 minutes for milkshakes. Nuts...

Sorry Ted's- there's too much competition for you to survive unless you clean up your act, pay attention to customers and deliver quality service and food. Patrons will simply choose another place. I have- and I'm not going back. Three strikes, Ted's out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    186
    36
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Key lime pie shake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Cute diner! Loved the adult milkshakes, great soup of the day, and good service. Probably can't say enough about the key lime pie milkshake! It was just like drinking a piece of key lime pie, if you can imagine that, and with a kick! Certainly couldn't taste the rum, but it was definitely in there!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great All Day Long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Food, atmosphere and MILKSHAKES are fantastic. Peanut butter n chocolate or coffee shakes = yum! Skip the French toast, not fantastic, but huge burrito is delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCape
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot with kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited the Barrack's Row area Ted's Bulletin recently. From the front window the place looked very small, but once inside we realized there was a fairly large back dining room.

The dining room was made up of large booths and was abutting an open kitchen area. A large TV screen was playing old Three Stooges episodes.

Our waitress greeted us promptly once we were seated and was available throughout the meal. Their menu boasts that they are a top "kid friendly" restaurant and they certainly are. We were dining with two very hungry children aged 3 & 5. She did not flinch at their sometimes loud voices or clanking of silverware.

The menu was large, but not overwhelming. You can eat any meal, breakfast, lunch or dinner all day which was appealing. We did get milkshakes which are reputed as some of the best in the country. They were VERY rich, but delicious. Cost was upwards of $6 per shake. Our meals were all delicious and large as well. The chicken soup tasted like something you would make at home. Everyone at the table wanted a bite! Our 5 year old loved the home-made apple sauce and encouraged everyone at the table to try it's "cinnamon-y" deliciousness.

In the end we probably ordered too much food and would scale back next time, as many dishes were sharable.

We would certainly recommend for families visiting the area and looking for a family friendly spot with reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definite DC Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We decided to take a short trip to DC and wanted to find a restaurant to go with kids. This place was a huge hit with everyone in the family. My husband at the suggestion of the waiter had the peanut butter bacon burger and loved it. I had the homemade tomato soup and grilled cheese. It was delicious! My sons both had homemade pop tarts. The pop tarts are a must try. There was a little wait, but it was well worth the wait! I would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Bulletin also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Bulletin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted's Bulletin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.