We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adult Milkshakes!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ted's Bulletin

Ted's Bulletin
505 8th Street SE, Washington DC, DC (Capitol Hill)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ted's Bulletin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Adult Milkshakes!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is great and rather well known so choose your time to go wisely because there will be a wait. The server was very attentive and was eager to tell us the storyline behind the place which I found very cool. The decor is that of a 20's diner which fit perfectly. I loved the adult milkshake, adult because it got the good stuff added. The food was simple but thoughtfully prepared, something I think many places overlook.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    111
    116
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast, lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ted's proved a very popular choice at any time of day with every one of our party (3 male seniors).
The service was personalized after the second visit and over a five day span in the fall of 2012 we ate there 6 times. Ted's menu was up to satisfying everyone's cravings and appetite. The "dirty" milkshakes were popular but everything we tried on the menu was satisfying - not gourmet but meeting or exceeding expectations. The atmosphere is unpretentious and just a tad quirky.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee,FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had the pop tarts before I had anything else on the menu. You should definetly try one. The adult milkshakes are amazing. A must. I had the grilled cheese and tomato soup and it was delicious

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Appealing retro decor with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We walked in on a week day at lunch time and ended up sitting at the bar as the back room was full. Loved the art deco speakseasy feel. Service was very attentive and the food was classic comfort - the gumbo was delicious along with 2 large pieces of perfectly baked corn bread. The chocolate milkshake was creamy and we can't wait to go back to try the adult ones!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting comfort food breakfast spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a neat Capitol Hill breakfast, lunch and dinner restaurant. The eggs and hash browns were good. They have delicious homemade pastries including yummy pop-tarts. They had a Don Rickles, Tim Conway comedy playing on a big screen (sound off) which was fun. We came in before 8 AM on a Sunday and there were plenty of tables, but by the time we left, it was quite busy. As other reviewers have mentioned, a reservation is a good idea. There is a also a nice big counter with lots of seating so a solo would be comfortable going to this restaurant. The portions are a good size - not too small not too big. The price was on the high-end for breakfast. Convenient to the Metro and on-street parking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Bulletin also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Bulletin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted's Bulletin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.