We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to lear about our Government” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Capitol Visitor Center

U.S. Capitol Visitor Center
East Plaza of the Capitol between Constitution and Independence Avenues, Washington DC, DC 20515 (National Mall)
202-226-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #55 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Other
Attraction details
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to lear about our Government”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The visitor center is very nice and offers a lot of information about how the US Congress works, and the US Constitution. You visit a few rooms in the capitol including the Rotunda.

You may have to wait a outside as they process 20 people at a time through security. Make sure you visit their website first as there are several items you cannot bring with you into the capitol. Also, make sure you contact your local congressman so you can get the special tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    79
    27
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We made reservations to book a tour here and I would say the tour was so so. It was nice to be able to see all of the old meeting places of our government, but I was disappointed we couldn't see the House or Senate. I didn't know I needed permission from our representative to do so. So maybe next time I visit I will make an appointment with them so I can see the actual places I intended to visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“free admission and free public tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stopped in while in town for the Inauguration and was delighted to be right on time to jump into a group guided tour. Admission and tours are free and the history and artwork is spectacular. A must do when in town!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful architecture, excellent tour - a great way to connect with our country's democracy and history. The guided tour is a MUST - and free! Also sat in the US Capitol House Gallery and watched the proceedings on the floor.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely take the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was very skeptical about this one, but it was totally worth it. My favorite part was hearing all the details behind historical paintings of our forefathers ... they were just as petty as our politicians are now, though it's funnier in hindsight :) Try to go when session's out and the Capitol is empty because you'll get lots of opportunities to see things you wouldn't normally have access to.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Capitol Visitor Center also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to U.S. Capitol Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Capitol Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.