We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unnecessary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Capitol Visitor Center

U.S. Capitol Visitor Center
East Plaza of the Capitol between Constitution and Independence Avenues, Washington DC, DC 20515 (National Mall)
202-226-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$40*
and up
Washington DC Capital Sites Bike Tour
Ranked #79 of 486 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unnecessary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We didn't need something to waste our time while waiting to enter OUR National Capitol. It's overly grand, unnecessarily large and regimented and unneeded.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    113
    43
    17
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Capitol!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Whatever you do, if you come to DC you must take a Capitol tour. Unfortunately it is one of those things that most people skip when they realize they planned too much to do and not enough time in DC. Don't be one of them or you will miss out!
It is best to plan ahead and schedule a tour but if you just show up they can almost always squeeze you in, even in the busy summer seasons.
If you want a more personal tour, contact your Senator or Congressman's office.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“US Capitol gotta see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The tour is free The knowledge is priceless. The tour guide made the tour Very informative. She had great stories that made the tour less boring and more interesting. We had a great time checking out all the rooms of the Capitol. I really like the room where you can wisper and be heard all around the room.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I thought this would be a drag, and was pleasantly surprised. The tour is short enough not to be tiring - and very well organized. The architecture and art in the capitol building is a delight. Stop at the cafeteria in the basement for a break.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
382 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Really nice tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was a really nice and interesting tour, staff is also very pleasant! I really enjoyed it and would recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Capitol Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Capitol Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Capitol Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.