We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner during a 6 night trip to DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Cacao

Bistro Cacao
320 Massachusetts Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
+1 202-546-4737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Cacao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Union Station red line three blocks away
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best dinner during a 6 night trip to DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This restaurant was absolutely perfect! Quaint character building, with that old French bistro feel to it. The cozy tables for 2 offered us a chance to feel a little secluded behind partially drawn drapes. Larger parties are seated in the center of the restaurant. The food was simply outstanding. We started with a shared appetizer of scallops in a bean sauce that had such a wonderful collection of flavors that I would go back simply to indulge my taste buds again. My main of rack of lamb was perfectly seasoned and tender. My husband chose the hanger steak that was equally tender. Our waiter was a character, and gave us great suggestions for wine and food all the while being very attentive. We did not have desert, choosing instead to sample an excellent liquor. I will definitely return to this restaurant the next time I am in DC!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    51
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My parents and I had a great meal at Bistro Cacao on Sunday night. When we arrived my parents mentioned that I had to catch a flight later that night, and the staff went out of their way to provide us with excellent service, and they couldn't have been nicer about it! My mom started with the escargot, which she enjoyed. I ordered the filet mignon which was cooked to perfection and served with potato gratin and asparagus. It was all so delicious! My mom had the bouillabaisse and my dad had the jumbo shrimp with mushroom ravioli. Bistro Cacao is a lovely restaurant with very nice staff and delicious food. I will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looking for Unique Charming Atmosphere , Here it is!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a Great Re-find "Formerly, The Two Quail" several years back. Shades of its former self are still present and gladly so!
Now with a heavy French Flair and Flavor the Meal was delicious, A nice Wine list with good by the glass offerings. four courses later,
French Onion Soup, Red Beet Mozzarella Salad, Classic Filet Mignon with a red wine reduction and Trio of Creme' Brûlées each course was very good.
Charming Atmosphere! Cozy!
Sure to return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

An adorable little bistro with winding rooms and private tables. The service andrecommendations were wonderful as were the added touches of care. The manager saw that I didn't get a last share of my husbands lobster bisque and brought out a darling little bowl for me to sample. The Boullibaise was a stunning and delicious presentation, my pistachio crusted sea bass was amazing and the scallops over white beans impressive! I highly recommend the apple tart which is made fresh, worth the wait. A lovely evening, no rush and relaxing! Thanks to the Somm for sharing some fantastic wines with us - the Domaine Pegau was spectacular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We went there for New Year's Eve dinner.
They had a special menu for a reasonable price (wine not included) and the food was delicious. The staff is very kind and helpful - to pushy but always there to help. We found street parking close by at a metered parking space.
The interior is absolutely cozy and beautiful. A fireplace at the entrance coat check. Just all around a good place - we had a table in a cozy window place. Very memorable evening! Can only recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Cacao also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bistro Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Cacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.