We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Journey to another place and another time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Cacao

Bistro Cacao
320 Massachusetts Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
+1 202-546-4737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Cacao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Union Station red line three blocks away
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Journey to another place and another time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The restaurant appears how I would imagine 1920’s Paris, private booths, draped to ensure privacy. I enjoyed the music which added to the ambiance, the service was attentative, only criticism was that the meal was served almost too fast! The food is excellent, the portions are more European (thankfully smaller than typical US!) but the flavours are very good. There is a good choice of Wine and as with the food is very good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We dined here with friends from out of town who live in Europe, and had recently traveled to Paris. We were all blown away at the meal, the service, and the quality of the dining experience. The wine selection was also very easy to manage and reasonably priced.

If everyone is up for it, or for a nice romantic dinner, just order the wine and chef's tasting menu and let the pros do all the work of selecting your meals and wine accompanying the course. It is a five course meal, and it is well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“X-MAS Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When we decided visiting the Capitol X-Mas tree as family, due to it proximity Bistro Cacao was an obvious choice to dine for us. The place was on our list of restaurant's to visit. We were pleasantly surprised to see how good the food was. The interior decor was great too. This place is a very romantic place for couples especially at nights, and it is also a great place for political power lunches. I have not seen many chefs walking around the dining room and talking with patrons lately. The chef did just that. He is accessible to the diners at all times.Bistro Cacao deserves many more visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Meal in a Long Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Convenient to Union Station and the Capitol this "French Bistro" offers fine French dining with extensive wine list, great service and elegant (yet funky?) decor. Despite the favorable reviews and accordingly high expectations I was pleasantly surprised by this spot just north of Union Station. We ate in the main dining room with mini-booths partly curtained off. Duck was delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch between 6 St and Union Station - along CST NE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This Bistro does a great brunch starting at 10 am on Sundays. I tried the Blueberry pancakes and chicken sausage. It was served with fresh fruit. The table received baked goods in little paper bags to start, along with little servings of Nutella, sweet butter and Jam. Our friends enjoyed their meals, the service and the ambiance. It was quite busy so i suggest you attend early to avoid the rush. Cost? Plan on spending about 12 to 15 dollars per person - includes tax. Great spot!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Cacao also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bistro Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Cacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.