We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G Street Food

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
G Street Food
1706 G Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20006 (Dupont Circle)
2024087474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #763 of 2,563 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: Sandwiches, International, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Phone: (202) 408-7474 Monday - Friday, Breakfast: 7:30AM-10:30AM, Lunch: 11:00AM to 3:30PM Questions or Comments? info@gstreetfood.com
Ellicott city, md
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stick to sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I went to the one in Dupont Circle and have only tried the non-sandwich items. I tried the chickpea pancake and the kabob. Both did not impress me. They actually catered a company luncheon for us and the sandwiches are fantastic! So the four stars I give is for sandwiches only.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the sandwiches, the salads are better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Banh mi should not have prosciutto on it. 'Nough said.

After trying their burgers, kentucky chicken, and a bunch of other sandwiches I finally found what's great here: their salads. The lentil & feta salad is amazing, as are the thai chicken salad and the curry chicken salad. The chicken peanut salad is pretty good too. Don't waste your time on the sammies.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great casual lunch in the $10-15 range”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I eat here often, since it's near my office.
A great place to grab lunch if you're near the White House, visiting the Corcoran Gallery, or are on the WWII/Vietnam Memorial side of the Mall.
The line is a little confusing and chaotic - think about whether you want a salad or a sandwich beforehand, so you can get in the right line.
Salads are unique (I like the lentil and feta), and come with a nice roll... crusty on the outside, soft on the inside.
Pretty much all of the sandwiches are good - and are even better paired with their hand cut fries!
The halal plates (chicken and/or lamb) are pretty popular, but aren't really my favorites.
If you're hear around breakfast time, the donuts and bagels are super yummy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upscale sandwiches at downtown prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

New lunch spot has opened in downtown Washington's Farragut section on 19th St (it's not anywhere near G St, can't explain that one). At it's heart it's a casual sandwich lunchspot for office workers (closes at 4pm). Sandwiches are great, and a little more chic than competitors - chicken ricotta panino, Thai tuna salad in a kind of Mediterranean (that's the general theme) tortilla, Vietnamese banh mi, each for under $8. The bread is very good. Decor is a crisp, clean kind of urban chic, like nightclubs had in the 90's. The flow is a little unusual. You enter and go all the way to the back, order, are given a slip, go halfway to front to pay, then back to the back to wait for your number to be called. On the upside, I guess you can be sure that the people touching the money are not the people touching your food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Take your Taste Buds on a Global Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Check out my full review: http://www.examiner.com/cheap-eats-in-washington-dc/an-international-adventure-foggy-bottom

For a quick summary of the international gem, read on:

Food: Phenomenal variety of delicious international street food- from Japanese Curry Rice to Kentucky Fried Chicken. The worst part of G Street Food is deciding which corner of the globe one wishes to sample. My favorites include the Cubano Sandwich and whichever flatbread is being dished up that day.

Service: Can be a bit slow during especially busy lunch rush hours, but nothing excruciating. Always well worth the wait! At off times (open at 7:30 until 11:30 and 1:30 until close at 4:00) dishes are whipped up in no time and the chefs are always cheerful and helpful when asked for suggestions.

Atmosphere: Comfortable, casual, modern cafeteria style. The most popular customers are employees of the innumerable government agencies that surround G Street Food, including the IMF and World Bank

Price: Under $10

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G Street Food also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to G Street Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G Street Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.