We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer, Beer, BEER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Churchkey

Churchkey
1337 14th Street NW, 2nd Floor, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)
(202) 567-2576
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beer, Beer, BEER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place is amazing. All the beers are seved in special glasses for that beer. 555 selections. Some are served warmer than the normal COLD COLD beer. The food is amazing. The decor is so creative. If your in DC check this place out. Mac and Cheese sticks are ridiculousy good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    50
    22
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ehhh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We originally went for the restaurant below, but it is closed on Mondays. Chruchkey is above the restaurant and the first this you notice is how the stairwell smells like a frat house basement after an all night kegger. I almost turned around. Once up and into the oddly uncomfortable pew-like booths, it was okay. Their beer selection is larger than most,but they didn't have any of my favorite mid-western beers (i.e. Boulavard Tank 7, Tallgrass Buffalo Sweat, or Breckenridge Vanilla Porter) but I could be mistaking because we were never presented a beer list for their bottles. The food selection was limited so we ended up heading to another place for dinner. I would go back, but take a deep breath before heading up the stairs!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing beer selection, so so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came in on a cold weekend afternoon. Bar was somewhat crowded, but we managed to snag a booth. Took one look at the draft menu and was blown away. Very wide range of domestic and international beers. Tried my usual favorites and some new ones. The flemish reds were very interesting. Didn't try out a lot of food, we had the mac and cheese sticks which were pretty good. We also took a look at their bottle menu, which was even more extensive than the draft. Very impressed with their selection. I was not as impressed with the service, our waiter was clearly not in a rush to get any of our beers, and it wasn't just our table. Thought at first that the bartenders might be busy, but nope, waiter was just slow.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Here for the beer..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband is quite the beer connoisseur so we wanted to find a bar with a great selection on our recent trip to DC. We're a young couple in our 20s and thought this place was great! There's so many things to pick from, it's almost a little overwhelming. We were there on a Thursday night around 10 and had to wait a little while before some seats opened up at the bar.. well worth waiting. And if you get the munchies while waiting, they have the best tater-tots I've ever had!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were so excited to visit this place, as we love beer. They open at 4 pm, but I recommend not going until after 430. We walked up at 4pm, and a bouncer came up to us and checked our I'D's. He then told us they were running behind and to wait in the staircase (which was not a problem). Around 4:15 pm, he came up to us and asked us to follow him back downstairs. When we got down there, he said they were still setting up and we could come back. As excited as we were to try their different selections, we left. Clearly its not ran by good management, the bouncer was rude, and we felt extremely ackward. Why give your business to them? Don't show up right at opening!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Churchkey also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Churchkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.