We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection, comfy local hangout!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Churchkey

Churchkey
1337 14th Street NW, 2nd Floor, Washington DC, DC 20005 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)
(202) 567-2576
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 2,768 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Logan Circle/ Shaw
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great beer selection, comfy local hangout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Group of 3 women (40's) arrived after a long day of sight-seeing...got the last table before all younger locals got off work and headed here after a long day of work and apparently yoga (based on the yoga mats at various tables)! Casual dress (i.e. jeans/yoga apparel), bar atmosphere...menu was great, and the faro salad was fabulous! 5 minute walk from Rouge hotel where we stayed....would have returned for a 2nd night but w/ only 3 nights in city, has other plans....will definitely return here and bring my very jealous husband who loves his craft beer and missed this trip! Very cool...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    57
    25
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Food, atmosphere and beer were all great, worth checking out.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Visited Churchkey as it was recommended by the hotel we were staying in, and ended up going here to watch the Superbowl. Was hugely impressed by the beer menu, and the waiter really knew his stuff (his recommendation was fantastic). The food was great too. Great service; when our dessert came late, the waiter gave it to us for free.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We came here after a long day of walking around the city and enjoying the sites. We had already eaten dinner, so we took a small table and ordered up some samples from their long menu of amazing beers on tap. It was fun to just sit and chat and relax over a couple of beers. A fun evening if you are just looking for something mellow without having to get all dressed to the nines. Great beer selection, most of which we had never heard of or tasted. A fun hint: give your server a list of beers you would typically drink, and let them choose a selection of tasters for you to enjoy. A great way to taste some of the offerings you wouldn't be able to enjoy otherwise!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My friends and I had no where to sit, but the beer selection was fantastic, so it was worth it. They had beers that were aged in cognac casks. Fantastic!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchkey also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Churchkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.