We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An updated gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   400 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Mount Vernon Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An updated gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Keith met us at the door and took us on a tour of downstairs. The home has been restored and is nicely appointed. Arriving upstairs (no elevator but Keith carried my bag) we stayed in the Copper Room on the second floor. Comfy bed and nice linens. This room opens up to a balcony that is shared with another room. There is no view and this space could use some TLC. The room and bathroom were very nice. Recommend this room with martini shaker and glasses for couples. The room does get a lot of noise from traffic though luckily it calmed down after 10. The fan light came on by itself at one in the morning. When I turned it off, it came back on so it's either a short or a poltergeist. Breakfast noted to start at 8:30 didn't start until 8:45 and had to leave for an appointment so didn't get to spend much time with other guests traveling from France. The best thing going for Mt. Vernon is Keith--he brought me wine upon arriving, he carried my bag upstairs, he let us leave our luggage in the living room and he let us borrow two umbrellas. Three blocks from the metro.

Room Tip: Copper room has outdoor balcony and is on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    28
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
77
18
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Vernon for two nights in mid June and found the place to be excellent except for the traffic noise. The house itself is beautifully finished and Keith is an terrific host - and very security conscious! Breakfast was always enjoyable and mixing with the other guests - everybody sits at the same table - added interest. We had three nationalities one morning! Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building and did not seem to have double glazing so the noise was noticeable. (The house is on a corner and traffic is constant all day and quite a bit of the night - there is also a major intersection less than 100 yards away.) The room itself (The Cleopatra Room) was excellent - large and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The en-suite bathroom had a large shower (with three heads!) as well as a double whirlpool bath and loads of towels. The house is a little way out of the downtown core but there are restaurants and convenience stores within a five minute walk (try Busboys and Poets), Chinatown is about 15 minutes walk and Constitution Avenue about a half hour stroll.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this b&b for a weekend i Washington. It was an excellent choice (and I have stayed in b&bs many times before, so I have some experience). Keith is a great host, the house is beautiful (we had the Terrace Room), and the location is very convenient - about 15-20min walk from major attractions (White House, National Galleries of Art, Smithonians), and about 5 min or less from a metro station. There is a grocery store around the corner.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: The bathroom of the Terrace Room is down a flight of stairs but we found this to be no problem. Keit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This lovely restored historic B&B was our perfect choice for DC. Our host Kevin greeted us and showed us around the beautiful marble and polished wood lobby, living room, breakfast room and our very spacious State Room with warmth and efficiency. We so appreciated Kevin's offer of red and white wine, which was delcious and relaxing, and which he brought to us in our room. We loved the 6-spigot shower and 10-spigot whirlpool bath. Loved them! Read for awhile very comfortably in the loveseat and the armchair, and slept very well. Breakfast was delightful. (Plenty of good, rich coffee!) served family-style, shared with interesting guests for conversation. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Mount Vernon Square bed and breakfast because it was highly rated, and I was disappointed in almost every respect. My room was on the third floor, but my bathroom was on the second floor. I would have liked to have been warned. The neighborhood is dubious, with absolutely nothing to offer. Going anywhere involves a very long walk - - not 15 minutes as the proprietor always answered - - but double that. No, it is not near the National Gallery; nowhere near the Smithsonian etc. etc. Breakfast was weak coffee, rubbery pancakes served with cheap syrup and iffy looking butter. The room was pleasant enough, though the lumpy mattress was unfortunate. There was also a staircase to the attic right in the room which was disconcerting. The attic was an open construction site, and being exposed to that space felt strange. I wish I had been warned. The house itself is charming and clean, but none of that makes up for the rest of the problems. I never thought it would be necessary to have to ask if I would have to walk down a flight of steps to go to the bathroom. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: Avoid the room without a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location is within walking distance to the National Mall and the White House. The breakfasts were excellent every morning. Keith is very helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent three nights here. Loved the location - 15 minutes to the National Mall, 2 blocks to the Metro. The neighbourhood is undergoing revitalization and will no doubt continue to improve. Could benefit from a few more restaurants in the immediate area. Breakfasts were yummy and other guests interesting. At one of the breakfasts, 4 countries were represented. Room large, bed great, sitting area a plus and a TV a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Address: 400 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc
Mt. Vernon Square b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.