We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   400 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Mount Vernon Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Bonn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this b&b for a weekend i Washington. It was an excellent choice (and I have stayed in b&bs many times before, so I have some experience). Keith is a great host, the house is beautiful (we had the Terrace Room), and the location is very convenient - about 15-20min walk from major attractions (White House, National Galleries of Art, Smithonians), and about 5 min or less from a metro station. There is a grocery store around the corner.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: The bathroom of the Terrace Room is down a flight of stairs but we found this to be no problem. Keit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    28
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
76
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This lovely restored historic B&B was our perfect choice for DC. Our host Kevin greeted us and showed us around the beautiful marble and polished wood lobby, living room, breakfast room and our very spacious State Room with warmth and efficiency. We so appreciated Kevin's offer of red and white wine, which was delcious and relaxing, and which he brought to us in our room. We loved the 6-spigot shower and 10-spigot whirlpool bath. Loved them! Read for awhile very comfortably in the loveseat and the armchair, and slept very well. Breakfast was delightful. (Plenty of good, rich coffee!) served family-style, shared with interesting guests for conversation. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Mount Vernon Square bed and breakfast because it was highly rated, and I was disappointed in almost every respect. My room was on the third floor, but my bathroom was on the second floor. I would have liked to have been warned. The neighborhood is dubious, with absolutely nothing to offer. Going anywhere involves a very long walk - - not 15 minutes as the proprietor always answered - - but double that. No, it is not near the National Gallery; nowhere near the Smithsonian etc. etc. Breakfast was weak coffee, rubbery pancakes served with cheap syrup and iffy looking butter. The room was pleasant enough, though the lumpy mattress was unfortunate. There was also a staircase to the attic right in the room which was disconcerting. The attic was an open construction site, and being exposed to that space felt strange. I wish I had been warned. The house itself is charming and clean, but none of that makes up for the rest of the problems. I never thought it would be necessary to have to ask if I would have to walk down a flight of steps to go to the bathroom. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: Avoid the room without a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location is within walking distance to the National Mall and the White House. The breakfasts were excellent every morning. Keith is very helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Spent three nights here. Loved the location - 15 minutes to the National Mall, 2 blocks to the Metro. The neighbourhood is undergoing revitalization and will no doubt continue to improve. Could benefit from a few more restaurants in the immediate area. Breakfasts were yummy and other guests interesting. At one of the breakfasts, 4 countries were represented. Room large, bed great, sitting area a plus and a TV a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

After spending a few years living in DC, I wanted a weekend trip back that avoided the traditional hotel environment. This B & B is in a great location-central to downtown and the national mall, but also convenient to other areas of DC as well. The decor is incredible and is is very well maintained. The architecture itself is really interesting and you find yourself imagining what the history of the space might have been. The owners run the business, and they are extremely accommodating and friendly. The rooms have themes that are very well done. Also, the price really puts this place over the top. I hope that doesn't change. You basically get a 4 star space for a 2 star price...and you avoid the crowds. If you are looking for a couples getaway, this place would be a really nice home base for DC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bombay suite...it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed at Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast and I can't say enough wonderful things about this charming B&B. The location can't be beat, we arrived at Regan airport, took the Metro from there and only had to walk a few blocks to arrive at MVSBB. No need for a car, we walked everywhere. Breakfast served each morning was delicious and conversation with the other guests was always a nice way to start each day. We chose the Terrace room and had a peek-a-boo view of the Capitol - so cool! Keith is awesome, it is obvious he loves what he does and he is the perfect host. Next time our travels bring us to the DC area we will be sure to stay at Mt. Vernon Square B&B it was truly perfection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Address: 400 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc
Mt. Vernon Square b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.