We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice change from your typical hotel - perfect for vacationers.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   400 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Logan Circle/ Shaw)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Such a nice change from your typical hotel - perfect for vacationers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Mount Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast on a whim through Expedia. The value was great on the Expedia deal
but I probably wouldn't have paid full price. My other choice at the same price was the Westin. I was picking up a friend in DC and then spending the weekend there to catch up. The MVSBB proved the perfect arrangement for us. It is walking distance to great restaurants, the metro, china town, museums and other sites. Some things are farther than others, so be sure to check with Keith (inn keeper) if you have questions. The neighborhood is in the middle of a great revitalization, so while some parts are under construction it is relatively safe. Keith does give you a 'security' lecture when you check in - unlock, move, lock, check, close, check again.
The building is unremarkable from the outside, but inside is a gorgeous restoration of a beautiful old building. Lots of wood inlay details. Beautifully apportioned with stylish furniture and decoration accents. There is free wifi and the proprietor offers wireless printing - up to 10 pages a day for free. Breakfast is included with a family style breakfast served in the dining room at 830am. The chef does a great job. We had ham, eggs, fresh blueberry waffles and yogurt. There was orange juice, coffee,cranberry juice and a decent selection of hot tea.
We stayed in the third floor Terrace room. It is roomy and simply decorated. It's has a comfy queen bed and a futon. There is a fireplace, a little desk near the TV and a dresser on top of which sits a coffee maker. A refrigerator/freezer and sink are available across the hall. You have your own bathroom, but it's on the second floor. The bathroom is fair sized with a fancy multi-headed shower and a built in seat. Everything was immaculate when we arrived. There is a 30 or 40 inch flat screen and an outdoor patio. A small wrought iron flight of stairs leads to an upper floor but is off limits. My only complaint about the room is the mid-repair shell of a ceiling fan hanging from the middle of the room. Weird.
This is a great place for anyone who is in DC on vacation and doesn't want to be worn out by the ridiculous pace of the city. It's like coming home to a home. I highly recommend it. Keith is very accommodating and helpful. You can't beat this level of personal customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    28
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
82
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our 3 night stay at the Mt Vernon Sq B & B was all I hoped it would be . We will definitely check for availability again when we return to Washington DC. The accomidations were clean and very comfortable. If your going to visit the Smithsonians, Capital, ..... you will be within walking distance. The metro is 3 blocks away, easy access to the Arlington Cemetary.... Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. There are also numerous wonderful restaurants and a Safeway just a few blocks away. The owner is very gracious and informative. Use the Ronald Reagan airport if this is your destination, easy access.

Room Tip: We were in the Copper Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a good stay here in April of 2012. Keith mentioned he'd only been in business a short time and was eager to do everything right. He said he stayed in other B&B's to get the best learning experience - and he has succeeded. I'm a country person, not used to the city with frequent sirens , so that was the only part of my stay that was a tad bothersome (less sleep), but it was a vacation, so it didn't matter if I slept in. People who are used to traffic noise won't even notice. The food was excellent, .and I like the African motif. It is about a 15 min. easy walk to the Mall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great experience with Keith.

The B&B is just a few blocks away from the metro stop. Very easy to get there and good accessibility to safeway for groceries and a few restaurants. We stayed in the Terrace room and loved it. The bathroom is private but there's a flight of stairs between the Terrace room and the bathroom, so please be aware of that (as expected from website's description).

Breakfast was excellent every day and we had great conversation in the breakfast room at 8:30.

I left a phone charger in the room when we left and Keith mailed it back to us before we even had a chance to ask.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was an oasis during what was a hot stay in DC for the two of us. Beautifully presented and maintained, this classy B&B was a great base for seeing the sights and returning to when the summer sun just got too hot. Keith is a great host, willing to share his local knowledge and point you in the right direction for a great meal while eager to test his new breakfast dishes on adventurous guests. The room was just right and our three nights passed by so quickly. In summary, a great place to stay, nice and safe location, close to the metro and near enough to the sights and attractions for those who prefer to walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My friend and I recently spent four nights at the MVSBB and loved it. We were greeted warmly by our host, Keith, and given a quick tour of the house. It is beautiful! We stayed in the Copper room and it was large enough for 2 women to spread out easily. There is a small balcony in the back of the house that is accessible from the room. The night of our arrival there was a thunder and lightning storm and we pulled up the chairs on the balcony and watched the show!
The highlight was the morning breakfast. Every meal was a bit different. We were served the famous french toast, waffles, and a very yummy eggs benedict on jalapeno cornbread. A great way to start the day.
If you need any tip or tricks or suggestions, be sure to ask Keith. He can give you all kinds of help in planning your time in DC.
I highly recommend the MVSBB!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent three nights at Mt. Vernon Square B&B. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed. Keith is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the banana pancakes! Oh, and the cornbread and the eggs with spinach and feta cheese...Yum!! As for the location, how perfect! The house is a block away from a large grocery and a wonderful restaurant, and the Metro is a short three-block walk through a lovely neighborhood of historic townhouses. Union Station is nearby as well. This is an ideal location as a base for exploring Washington DC for adults, but probably not for children.....the temptation to slide down the stair bannister might just be too much!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Address: 400 M St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc
Mt. Vernon Square b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.