We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The driver and the tour stunk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Line DC

Gray Line DC
Union Station (Bus Level), Washington DC, DC 20002 (National Mall)
202-289-1995
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Super Saver
$65*
and up
Washington DC Supersaver: Mount Vernon and...
Ranked #104 of 157 Activities in Washington DC
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line DC Tours provides numerous sightseeing opportunities in and around the Washington, DC area. Full-Day, Two-Day and Get-Away tours give you access to the many of the must-see locations, and charters provide groups with the opportunity for a private experience. Our drivers are also licensed tour guides for the city, and provide an enjoyable, entertaining and educational atmosphere. Gray Line DC: Truly the Local Expert!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The driver and the tour stunk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

DC after dark UGH! Our driver talked the whole time which was fine but every fourth word was hard to understand, so we had no idea what he was saying. Also, the tour was 3 hours long, which is a lot but then he added another stop to make one person happy, which then made us miss our last shuttle to our hotel. Do yourself a favor and go with another company. BIG WASTE OF TIME

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    15
    16
    52
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“These buses are the greatest!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just spent four weeks in the US in September and used hop on hop off tour buses in New York, Washington, San Francisco, Los Angeles and San Diego. The Washington tour was my favourite. The tour guides on all of them are a wealth of knowledge and familiarise you with all the local sights, tips and little spots you might otherwise miss out on. I cant recomend them highly enough. I used to believe that these buses were corny and not worth getting onto, but I have now learnt the error of my ways and suggest you get your ticket early. Great stuff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Leave the driving up to them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We travelled to Pennsylvania and were staying a week at our location in East Stroudsburg. We thought we would like to see New York City since it was so close. The resort we were staying at had a one day bus tour so we booked and was that ever the way to go. We had a registered tour guide with us the whole day and we covered a lot of territory touring. Coming back, we ended up in a severe thunderstorm and we did not have the stress of driving, the bus driver did an awesome job and we arrived safely back at our resort. So, what we did not see that day, we took the Martz bus back to New York City and spent another 12 hours touring the city. The terminal was very close to East Stroudsburg and the cost per person was very reasonable for a round trip ticket. And, if there is not too much traffic, it only takes 1.5 hours to get there and same going back. The Port Authority in NYC is in a great location in downtown and even has food vendors in the terminal. If you want to avoid the stress of driving in heavy traffic and, avoid very high costs of parking in downtown NYC, the Martz bus is the way to go.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tour guide Willis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We love the hop on hop off tours and were lucky to have Willis as our guide. He was very informative, friendly and funny. We will look for him tomorrow. You should too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good if you want out of NY for the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Took this on the 4th of
September, long day out from
Manhattan, 4 hours from NY
To Washington DC

4 hours approx in Washington
Which included:

Lincoln memorial
Vietnam memorial
Capital hill (impressive)
White House
Madam Tussaud's
Air and space museum

And drive by of FBI headquarters, pentagon and where Lincoln was
Shot. Etc

Our guide was Marco / English
Italian narration all day..

Good guy not to overpowering

Long and the short of it, it's a very
Long day that starts at 6:30am
And finishes at 10pm so make
Sure you are prepared for a long
Bus ride.

Good tour!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line DC also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Line DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.