We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad organization and confusion.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gray Line DC

Gray Line DC
Union Station (Bus Level), Washington DC, DC 20002
202-289-1995
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$35*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line DC Tours provides numerous sightseeing opportunities in and around the Washington, DC area. Full-Day, Two-Day and Get-Away tours give you access to the many of the must-see locations, and charters provide groups with the opportunity for a private experience. Our drivers are also licensed tour guides for the city, and provide an enjoyable, entertaining and educational atmosphere. Gray Line DC: Truly the Local Expert!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad organization and confusion.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I have always taken a Grayline tour but we were not happy this time when booking with Gray line DC that they wouldn't have a seat for us when we were leaving for a night tour. There was also confusion when leaving Arlington Cemetary cramming our group with other groups getting on trams. Much confusion again when our bus driver said that he would meet us at entrance of the visitor center when we were done. He wasn't there, leaving one of our group to go and find him. BAD service this time

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    16
    21
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seward, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour at our pace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First, I have to say I'm surprised by the low rating. We've taken these tours in several large cities and the experience you have is entirely up to you (and can change from driver to driver). Also, of course there are stairs if you want to go up top (as my husband did) but I prefer to ride inside and therefore had no stairs. On one trip, a gentleman was in a Hoverround vehicle and rode onto the bus and was strapped in.

That being said, we had a wonderful experience in DC! As always, we take the first trip all the way around the route to determine what we want to see. Kenny and "Captain Kirk" were entertaining, friendly and we learned a lot. We were able to get off at the stops we wanted and could walk and pick up a bus later on. The first night, we also took the Night tour which was outstanding!!! The monuments after dark are even better and the drive through Arlington was excellent. Benjamin "Talksalot" (what he called himself) and driver, Michelle, were also very friendly, enjoyable and offered a lot of information.

I would definitely do this tour again, especially in a city such as Washington with so much to see and do!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“DC in a Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very early start - had to be at Union St at 7.30. A bit of confusion as there were 3 buses going to different places but it was eventually all sorted. We then had ti sit on the bus to kill time because the Capitol building which was our first stop didn't open until 8.30. Cheryl, our guide/driver was very knowledgeable but her job until around 1.30 was just dropping us somewhere and coming back 2 hours later to collect us.

We were dropped at the Capitol Building at about 8.30am and then picked up outside at 11.00 Due to police activity outside the Tunnel to the Library of Congress was closed so we finished our tour long before 11.00 so had to wait quite a while for the bus.

We were then dropped at the National Air and Space Museum and picked up at 1.30pm.

Cheryl then took us past many of the buildings and monuments, we stopped near the south portico of the White House and walked up to the fence to take a photo, we stopped at the Martin Luther King Memorial and the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial before heading to the National Museum of American History. At this point we left the tour as they were stopping there for about an hour before heading back to Union Station.

We believed that we would also visit the Lincoln Memorial and the National Archives according to the brochure and the website. Apparently seeing is whizzing past in a bus. We took ourselves off up to the National Archive Building and saw the famous documents that was high on our list of must sees.

With all the security that you have to go through to get into the various buildings I can understand that you can't fit everything in but please don't advertise that you do all of these things that you don't do.

I enjoyed what I did see but don't feel that I got what was advertised.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Bus Night Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was an excellent Night Tour, Joey our guide was extremely informative and gave us anecdotes that we didn't know even after visiting DC a dozen times. Michelle our driver was able to navigate our bus to the best spots and gave us ample time to view the monuments. Well done overall.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

bad service, no organization. Skipped half of stops, 3 hour tour took 5 hours!!!!! It was amazing, we kept being told we were behind schedule and we were 20 minutes late starting out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line DC also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray Line DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.