We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Duo Housing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Duo Housing to your Saves list
Duo Housing
1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Dirty, mold in the bathroom, really dirty, cockroaches, extremely dirty, more bugs, more mold. I really cant say more about how dirty this place was. We stayed for a month until we found a better summer place to live. Thankfully we found one. Also the staff if unhelpful. Even worse, I am pretty sure this place is not even licensed to operate!! I would not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
1
5
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This place offers monthly stays, which may seem awesome if you're one of the many interns flooding DC. Stay away unless you have no other option. First of all, this place has the weirdest hostel culture ever. People are totally oblivious to others sleeping in the rooms, even after midnight. I've stayed in many hostels and never before experienced something like this. Second, they don't clean nearly often enough. Fourty people a day + only 3 bathrooms = you've GOT to clean them every day. They just don't. Be prepared for bathroom floor mats covered in hair. Finally, they throw your food away, and this really sucks if you're a poor intern. It's great that they clean the fridge, but you can put your name and the date on your food just like they ask and they'll still end up throwing a bunch of it away. If you're living on the edge and that jar of spaghetti sauce will be your only dinner for the week, don't risk it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I booked a bed for 1 night through Duo's website, which was booked by Hostelbookers as their agent. After receiving 2 contradictory emails from Duo prior to departure on my booking status, I emailed back asking them to confirm whether my booking was confirmed. They did not reply and I turned up at the hostel to be told they had no beds. They had the cheek to tell me they already emailed me, even though they hadn't. I ended up hostel and hotel hunting in the area for the next hour, lugging my luggage around. With a conference happening at the local Washington Convention Centre all local hotels/hostels were fully booked. I finally found a hotel nearby which had vacancies. I was already 1 hr late meeting a friend and tired, stressed and angry. I was not prepared to go any further, so ended up paying an emergency $400 a night instead of what would have been $40 at the hostel, if they had bothered addressing their error.

When I returned to the hostel on my last day asking for my 10% deposit refund, they told me they didn't deal with cash and it would be refunded on my credit card. Upon returning home from holiday, the refund had not happened. I had to write a serious email to them requesting for the refund. At the same time Hostel Bookers refunded me the 10% as a goodwill payment, as after a booking it is the hostel's responsibility to refund the customer if they cannot honour a booking. Duo Hostel then promised me to pay me $36 for the 1 night's stay and asked for my credit card details. When I gave them these I received an email back saying they could not refund me anything as they never charged anything to my credit card. This demonsrates they are outright liars, cannot even deal with responding to customers' emails and have completely incompetent staff to even deal with complaints such as the one who dealt with my emails upon my return in the UK.
If you are planning a trip to DC, I would seriously consider staying elsewhere; there are other hostels in the area such as the Hostelling International where I was greeted with friendly staff during my bed hunting. The staff at Duo in Washington were not very approachable, unhelpful, unsympathetic and unapologetic. This error in booking could happen to anyone, unless they carry out a serious overhaul of the way they manage their bookings.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miercurea-Ciuc, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Right next to the metro station, almost in the city center. Great location! It's not expensive and it's comfortable.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duo Housing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duo Housing

Address: 1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All brand new!! New bathrooms! New media room! Cleanest rooms in dc! (Thanks to our "no shoes in house" and "no food in bedrooms" policies! ) Check out what makes Duo Housing THE #1 Choice for travellers! We provide the MOST FREE Amenities of any Hostel in DC! Duo Housing is just MINUTES away from nightlife, tourist attractions, and shopping! Less than 2 blocks to the Metro Rail! Come see why everyone LOVES Duo Housing DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Duo Housing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duo Housing Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo Housing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.