We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely you can do better than this in DC...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duo Housing

Save Saved
You added Duo Housing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duo Housing
1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel amenities
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surely you can do better than this in DC...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hostel has a shoes-off policy which seems to translate to staff as "no need to clean". The foyer stinks with foot sweat as a result. The staff was off- the girl making breakfast was more keen on gossiping with her mates than actually cooking...lots of hungry people stood in line waiting. Very young crowd who seem to know it all- didn't enjoy the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Basement room was depressing, as no natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
1
4
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Duo Housing early 2012 for the first time and instantly fell in love with the relaxed atmosphere and the staff. I returned last month and was not disappointed!!

Pros:
staff
cleanliness
bedding
lounge areas
outdoor decks

Cons:
No free food :-(
no drinking after 10pm
upstairs deck closes at 7pm (but the downstairs one stays open!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Duo housing is one of the cheapest ( but Aldo central) places to stay in Washington DC. The place is very clean ( they ask you to take off your shoes before entering) and is nice. Bedrooms are large and very clean, toilets are ok. We also had free food (hamburgers and hot dogs) on Sunday night. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a more controlled atmosphere. The owner keeps tight control. However, that may be a good thing because of such control, this is a good hostel to get your "feet wet" in the world of hostel travel. Some other hostels have little to no rules, and because of it, it may be dirty, or hard to sleep. I enjoyed my stay, I followed the rules and everything worked out. This is not a party hostel. I met some great people here however, and we partied outside the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a very good place to stay. This is a very nice and clean place with very friendly staff. I think this is the best hostel I've stay in the USA. The location is excellent, it is near the National Mall. I recomend the hostel, I think it's ideal for young travellers that are travelling alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was looking for a cheap, secure place to stay during my travel to DC. I was apprehensive about this hostel before I arrived but after I got here I really liked the place. I stayed for two nights in a mixed 12 bedroom dorm room without any concern, issue or fear. The staffs were great, the place is clean and conveniently located near Downtown DC. Of course if you are looking for a relaxing, leisure place with comfort this is not the place to be. There are lots of people, international young students mostly who are just passing through or looking for a cheap safe place. If you are a student or someone looking for a place that is secure and comfortable enough in a cheap price, this is the place to be. My fears about living in a mixed dorm (as I'm a girl and not from US) were all put to rest. I am thankful that there are cheap and good alternative like Duo Housing for people like me.

Room Tip: If you book beforehand, you will get all male and all female dorms on the upper floors which are air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The first couple of nights I thought this hostel lacked a bit in atmosphere. Alot of people were mostly just staying in their rooms. But the last night was good fun with people having a few drinks in the kitchen. I thought it strange that you have to take off your shoes before entering, but this seems to be the norm in DC. It's in a good location and easy to get around.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duo Housing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duo Housing

Address: 1223 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All brand new!! New bathrooms! New media room! Cleanest rooms in dc! (Thanks to our "no shoes in house" and "no food in bedrooms" policies! ) Check out what makes Duo Housing THE #1 Choice for travellers! We provide the MOST FREE Amenities of any Hostel in DC! Duo Housing is just MINUTES away from nightlife, tourist attractions, and shopping! Less than 2 blocks to the Metro Rail! Come see why everyone LOVES Duo Housing DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Duo Housing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duo Housing Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duo Housing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.