We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scion Restaurant

Scion Restaurant
2100 P St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)
202-833-8899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scion Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #463 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: Corner of 21st and P St
Transit: Scion Restaurant is 2 blocks west of Dupont Circle Metro. Several bus stops are located nearby.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Scion was recommended by our concierge at the Palomar Hotel just down the street. I was not impressed by the food. I thought it was average at best. My steak was just ok and the frites were just ok as well. My wife got the Rockfish selection. I wish we would have been warned of how strong of a fish taste it presented. Overall the flavors were bland. The best part was the cheesecake that was very light and spongy. The expensive drinks were not as tasty as described on the menu or by the waiter. On a good note though, our waiter was very nice and attentive to our family. I did not skimp on his tip either as he was not the chef.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    83
    36
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A nice restaurant, great beer and burgers, wonderful brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Scion has something for everyone with well priced and delicious fish and steak dishes, but also the best burger in town. The drink selection is similarly elegant, but also has a wide variety of beers on tap.

The best thing about Scion, however, is their brunch, including make your own omelets, and complete with a free fruit buffet that boasts not only the standard melons and pineapples, but also fresh berries and more exotic fruits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lively atmosphere, interesting menu, food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I ordered the Five Cheese Macaroni and Cheese for an appetizer and the turkey meatloaf with wild mushroom gravy. The macaroni was unimpressive, grainy, and served lukewarm. The best thing about the turkey meatloaf was the wild mushroom gravy. The meatloaf was very bland and had a mushy texture. They did have an interesting beer selection and our server was very attentive and friendly. The crowd was lively and happy. Go for the fun atmosphere, but don't expect outstanding food. I was drawn in by the menu posted outside, but the food does not live up to the menu. I would not go eat there again as there are many other choices in the neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A decent restaurant with a good variety of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Good well priced restaurant and the food was well prepared and the staff was excellent. The atmosphere was a bit bright and sort of felt like a high end college bistro. The prices were a bit high to justify this but all over good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are in Dupont at dinner time and like creative vegetarian food, try this restaurant. They also serve good non-vegetarian dishes.

Very popular. Mixed age crowd.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scion Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Scion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.