We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happened upon a little gem,,.,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Lounge

Capitol Lounge
229 Pennsylvania ave SE, Washington DC, DC 20003 (Capitol Hill)
202-547-2098
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,040 of 2,700 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
oswego
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Happened upon a little gem,,.,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Happened upon this place during a recent stay in DC and liked it so much we went back the second night as well! Food is fantastic bar fare. Chef happened to come out to the bar while we were there and he obviously pours his heart into his food. Everything we had was just fantastic from the sliders on down the menu. Bar staff was fun, prices were reasonable. If you are there during college foot ball season, be prepared for a loud fun night!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“wow weeee zo weeeee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

i love this place.went looking for the hawk and dove; alas it is gone so just a block away i found heaven and my new fav bar and eatery.first if you want to watch a game , they have many flat screens spread throughtout this large venue i.e..patio, downstairs , upstairs and seating at a great bar in addition to outfront side walk. saturday morning was a bloody mary do it yourself bar that went perfectly with my bacon and eggs. wait staff was friendly and accomodating in every way.I LOVE THIS BAR!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Sliders Anywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Went for beer week will come back for the sliders. The best anywhere! Warm, buttery and who cares what's inside, they tasted so good.

Cozy, fun, engaging staff and great atmosphere. Selection of beers very good and inexpensive, perhaps they sell alot, ha!

Will go back another time to check out a larger menu. Heard the pub quiz was good as well. Plenty of opportunities for fun.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and relaxing atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stumbled upon this little gem on our recent stay in DC. The food and service were both great! You get pretty good sized portions too so if you are on a strict budget, you could easily split one of the sandwich meals.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great place for bar food and beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Friendly bar staff, interesting and friendly clientele. The food hit the spot and was served quickly. Also very reasonably priced.

In general, a great place to chill out on a hot and sticky DC summer's afternoon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Lounge also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Capitol Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.