We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel
1200 16th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)
+1 202-448-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Plume at the Jefferson Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 2,558 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: M Street NW
Description: As the only Forbes Five Star rated restaurant in DC, Plume at The Jefferson, serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our skilled culinary staff. Plume's classic dishes are inspired both by the gardens of Monticello and the refined palate of Thomas Jefferson. Dishes are expertly executed with lighter, contemporary finishing touches that appeal to today's enlightened palates. Accompanying Plume's innovative menu, the wine program features more than 1,300 labels with some dating back to 1720. Recipient of Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, we invite you to savor a bottle of the restaurant's more than 50 vintages, including some that Jefferson himself enjoyed in his time, as well as newer wines he might select were he alive today.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Way over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Nice location in a great hotel but the prices are not in line with the quality of food received. The wine prices were out of site!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    21
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the place to dine if you have food sensitivities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We came to this restaurant through several recommended sources for a special occasion. After informing several individuals on the staff of a severe nut-allergy, I was served nuts in one of my dishes. If you have any food sensitivities, this is NOT the place to dine. When I asked if the dish had nuts in it after ingesting, it also took several minutes for the restaurant to confirm this - making the situation that much worse.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still one of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was out first time back to Plume in too long and the 1st time since Chef Jakubiec was promoted. Nothing has suffered from the change in the kitchen. Foie gras tasting was to die for - beet ice cream was a big hit. They were having a wine dinner that night, so I ordered the venison from that menu. Cooked to the perfect temperature and was the tenderest venison I've had. The profiterole dessert was beautiful. 3 profiteroles with a blueberry sauce were tucked under a web of lemon cotton candy. I hate cotton candy, but I finished every last bit of this! The service and ambiance is superb, as it always has been. As usual Michael and Aileen made the perfect wine selection and even snuck out a few tastes of the wine from the wine dinner

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Tasty Special Occasion Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner at Plume. The restaurant's setting is beautiful- looking like a late 19th early 20th century. The menu was varied enough and included a vegetarian appetizer and a main dish. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. The sommelier was one of the friendliest we've encountered in restaurants and his recommendations were spot on. The overall experience was more of a European restaurant eating experience. In other words, leisurely, not the more typical hurried service where dishes appear one after the other. We liked the fact that the wait staff was discreet and did not appear every two minutes to ask if we needed anything, but came at the right time. Finally, we liked the fact that tables were separate from each other in a way that allowed a quiet private conversation. We will most certainly return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, top notch service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had lunch here a few weeks ago, the food was great, the service was over the top, and the hotel is a hidden jewel.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume at the Jefferson Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Plume at the Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.