We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J&G Steakhouse - CLOSED

J&G Steakhouse
515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
(202) 661-2440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: Pennsylvania Ave.
Transit: We are just two blocks from Metro Center at the corner of 15th and F (W Hotel entrance) or 15th and Pennslyvania (restaurant entrance).
Description: Thank you for choosing J&G Steakhouse at the W Hotel Washington DC. We look forward to welcoming you to the restaurant. Parking is available at the W Hotel for $25 on the corner of 15th and F Street or you may wish to park at PMI Garage at 1325 G Street NW for $13 for dinner time parking. Interested in booking a private event in either the Coin, Cherry Blossom rooms or in our Wine Bar? Please contact Kendal Berner at 202.661.2452 or kendal.berner@whotels.com
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overrated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Good crab cake, excellent porterhouse steak (I asked rear and got medium-rear, so make your point), dessert good but not excellent. Wines are outrageously dear, and you can't have a steak without wine.
So I'd say it is good, but the quality/price ratio is not a winner.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    54
    29
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weird and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I came here expecting a nice meal before a show. My family and I had reservations and were seated quickly. After that the menus came with water, and our drink orders were taken. After that, though, things just got more and more mediocre. The first thing I noticed was the price: it was outrageous. Maybe if we had had VIP treatment, and the steak was known to be delicious, then I would have been willing to shell out between $40 and $100 dollars per steak, but none of that was the case. As such, everyone in my group ordered fish. I had the tuna, which was flash fried, crusted with peppercorn, and drizzled in miso sauce. It was well cooked, but the peppercorn overpowered the miso sauce and was far to peppery. Others in my group ordered the salmon which was well cooked as well, but came with no sauce or other condiments. After tasting it I had only one thought; bland, bland, bland. The atmosphere of this place was weird and unsettling too: the lobby was filled with people dressed like rappers, and the restaurant seemed to me like faux-modern. On the upside, the waitstaff was fine, but there's not much else to say. I left this place unsatisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Third time the charm?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been big fan's of this place for two years and is a go to place each time we visit DC. However we were a bit disappointed this last visit. They have remodeled, added a bar in the dining room, fit rid of the white linen and changed the menu. Part of the appeal, in my opinion, is that you are eating next to the White House and can imagine the leaders of the country dinning here with a dark plush expensive feel. This is no longer the case. You could be eating anywhere with place mats on the bare table and a very boring menu. Staff was good but not are who our waiter was as three different people took our order from drinks, appetizer, and enter. Appetizer came out after a wait and just in front of the meal. Food was just so so. Lost a customer with these changes. Much better in the area

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I am sold on their french onion soup and the salmon. The drinks are great. the service is a bit slow but it allows you to enjoy your food

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Highly recommend this restaurant. Service is perfection and food is great. I've been here for 2 days in a row. It's a solid choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J&G Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J&G Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.