We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eatonville

Eatonville
2121 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Upper Northwest)
202-332-9672
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eatonville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #171 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Cross street: We are located at the corner of 14th and V Street NW
Transit: We are located at the corner of 14th and V Street NW - 2 blocks from the Metro Yellow/Green Line - U Street Cardozo stop.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you cant get to New Orleans, this is as good as it gets for DC. Unique menu selection. Great Service and the food is delish. I came here with a party of 12 for my birthday dinner and was very pleased with the service and food. No one in my group had any complaints.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    44
    48
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never a bad experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have eaten at Eatonville several times & it's never a bad experience, however what really set it in was when our friends from New Orleans came in town & loved it. Eatonville is far better than TruOrleans & defintely better than Acadiana. Eatonville's cornbread, mussels, fried green tomatoes, crab cake, fried chicken & shrimp & grits are all good! I have yet to be disappointed

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Innovative take on Southern Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Eatonville is always on my list for a good plate of catfish. Recently I sat at the bar during Happy Hour and had a nice glass of Pino and the trio of sliders. The shrimp, oyster and catfish sliders were presented on a buttery roll with chips. Just the right, light touch. The restaurant is an important part of the literary community because it is named after the hometown of writer Zora Neale Hurston. The atmosphere is casual, filled with art and music, and right off the busy corridor of U St. N.W.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food you won't get at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

...unless you live in Florida and your Mama is determined to spoil you. We stopped here once to have a glass of wine at the outside tables, nicely placed so you are not eating directly next to parked cars. Had the stuffed Hush puppy and we were hooked. Came back a couple days later for full dinner. The inside is spacious, generally pretty full, but still not too loud for conversation. Many family celebrations, girl's night out, mixed in with obviously dating couples and clearly only a few tourists. Highlights were the catfish, the fried chicken, the grits and the greens. If you want to have some fried food done right, this is the place. Really friendly service. Prices were very fair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife took me on a treat to Eatonville restaurant in DC.on a weekday and I was very impressed with the drink menu and Southern style Louisiana cuisine. The food was delicious, my wife had shrimp and grits; drinks are reasonably price with a good selection and decent appetizers from hush puppies, cornbread and gumbo. The dessert was awesome and would highly recommend the bread pudding with ice cream. Its a pretty big restaurant, very spacious and comfy chairs. Request to sit in the rocking chair and feel at home.
You would love the decor of this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatonville also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Eatonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eatonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.