We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #81 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great Location. Great Location. The staff were super nice and friendly. Struck up many conversations with the staff. The check in was easy and the stay was great. Rooms are nice and clean. A little bit outdated but no big deal. The rooftop bar is AMAZING. A MUST do. The restaurant downstairs if fabulous. Food was great. Atmosphere is killer. Great for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Pay for the nicest room you can afford. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. W is about Whatever/Whenever for our guests, so I'm glad that you had an exceptional experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,

Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    373
    172
    97
    63
See reviews for
155
329
103
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loopycat
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We didn't stay but popped in as the views from the bar were recommended. It didn't disappoint. Splendid views of the White House and the mall. Drinks were a little pricey although we expected that. Only downside was that waitress service required for a table and that was a little slow

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience at POV. POV is famous in DC for it's views. I'm sorry that your service was slow, but the team strives to provide superior service to our guests. I will be sure to address this concern with the appropriate leader in the hotel. We look forward to having you back next time.

All the best,

Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. It is very close to areas-we walked everywhere (Arlington Cemetery, monuments, etc.). Our room was clean. Typical W style.
Cons:
Walls were very thin, plus we had a connecting door-so our neighbors were partyers and woke us up around 3am when they came in. It was very loud. No coffee maker in room. You have to go to the lobby to get coffee-and there isn't any tea. Internet access is not free.
Pros:
Staff were great! We used the front desk for many things (band aids, directions, etc.). All were friendly, helpful and pleasant. My charger didn't work and they had one they loaned me, very quickly came to room. Concierge was helpful also.

One negative is the rooftop bar-we went up there Friday night-it is very crowded and noisy. Plus it seems like hotel guests should get preference or it should be free for hotel guests and outside guests should pay a cover. The view was great, but the rooftop bar was disappointing-I was hoping it would be more like other rooftop bars. Good luck making reservations for it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At W, we take our guest feedback seriously and I assure you that you concerns have been addressed with the appropriate leaders in the hotel. In the future, please be sure to request a coffee maker, with tea, and we will be more than happy to deliver this to your room free of charge. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly in the future so that I can oversee your experience personally.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel has a great central location and a nice rooftop lounge however we visited during the winter so we did not get to enjoy it. The hotel is beautiful, typical W contemporary decor with a colonial twist. Our room was extremely small. We only stayed two nights and it was just my husband and I so it didn't bother us much but if you are staying with children, or for an extended stay, you will need a suite. The vibe of the hotel is geared more towards adults not so much for families. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience, as the team strives to deliver exceptional service to all of our guests. Our service is personalized to each guest (husband/wife, family with children, business travelers) to ensure that we meet everyone's expectations. The next time your travels bring you back in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Unbelievable location! Two blocks from the White House and across from the Treasury. Walk to main Capital Hill attractions including good restaurants. The perfect location was a truly pleasant surprise. What I expected and what I received was the "usual" friendly and attentive service from all W team members - they made the experience perfect.

Green Features: Good idea to offer guests a chance to skip housekeeping for an extra 500 SPG points - no one needs four bath towels a day so why have service? Win-win, obviously keeps costs down so more flex to offer good rates to guests.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review about your experience. At W, the experience is everything, so I'm glad to see that the team delivered. I will be sure to share your feedback with them and celebrate their success. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hotel W
Having read the reviews that this was the best view and a great place for a drink in the rooftop Cafe we made a reservation for 6 pm. Sadly pouring with rain, so the transparent shutters were down and the mist spoilt the view a little. Perhaps this made the area even noisier, as it was full to bursting. The best view was at the end of the area which was roped off for a private party .... The rest of the customers were restricted to the nondescript side views ..... Prices were high and food not a lot better than a high street cafe. Actually would not recommend in the evening ....go during the day when hopefully it is sunny and you can hear yourself think. The staff at the hotel were very helpful though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. At W, we take our guest feedback seriously and your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate teams in the hotel. If there is anything additional I can do to assist in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Olivier Servat
General Manager
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

actually had a chance to come into DC for a meeting and had a chance to stay at the W. ive stayed around here before but was staying at the Willard which is literally next door. both hotels are excellently placed. they are across the street from the Dept of Treasury and an overlook from the Ellipse and the White House.

We checked in early and were met with a courteous staff. the check in process was great. the rooms were very neat--small but neat. the decor was well done. the bathrooms were wonderful. in fact i think we measured it and the bathroom was exactly half the size of the room. the color and the furniture mixes in the room were also very neat.

had a chance to go through the hotel. the first floor has a really nice bar. more for the atmosphere than anything else. at night the place gets crowded. i believe it is considered one of the hot spots in town. once youve had your drinks downstairs then you get to go to the roof to the rooftop bar. it is actually very nice since it overlooks the White House grounds. there is a nice dance club and a very nice bar. the crowd can get a bit out of hand.

as for the other facts::: the beds are very comfortable. the sleep was nice. the amenities are also excellent. one detractor was the parking. they charged 50 for overnight stay. it would be great if they didnt but again thats a request. the charge was in keeping with the usual charges in the area.

i would definitely recommend. the only reason that i did not give it a 5 is because it is part of a chain and it doesnt have the quality of a Ritz or a Landmark hotel. besides that again i would go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier_ServatGM, General Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience. Music, fashion, and design is the service culture at W, so I'm glad that you were able to experience this while you were with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if there is anything I can do to assist.

All the best,
Olivier Servat
GMOlivier.Servat@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.