We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #80 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“A nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very nice, modern hotel. But not as nice as other W's I have stayed in (this is why I gave it a 4). I did like their new option to select earning extra points instead of having a full maid service. As I was there on business and spent very little time in the room. It is in a good location for sightseeing but not night life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello paris28,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us and we do love our SPG Members! We do have a perfect location in downtown with a short walk to many major business and law firms. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    374
    173
    97
    63
See reviews for
155
329
103
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Washington for 2 or 3 days this location is ideal. Situated not far from the white house it is central to everything. The roof top bar is beautiful for a snack or a drink before or after a day of touring and walking. The rooms are small but bedding is up to Starwoods excellent standards. This was the old Washington hotel that was converted to a W. breakfast is expensive try to get it included in our room rate, we asked and they were very obliging. Use points if you are a Starwood ,ember and its really worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Debbie W,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location with only steps to The White House and a short walk to many major landmarks. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and lounged on our rooftop terrace overlooking the beautiful downtown views. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at a W hotel, and what a lovely surprise it was. Our room was a Wonderful Queen (one of he smaller categories on their list), yet despite the limited size, I was amazed by how cleverly it had been decorated and allocated. The hotel rooms have almost every amenity one could think of. The lighting in the room was lovely and the bed, one of the most comfortable ones we have slept in for a long time. I visited this hotel several years ago, and W has done a fantastic job at remodeling it.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more and getting a room on the higher floors. If you're lucky you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Attila W,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you loved our modern design combined with the French Renaissance styling of our historic building. Don’t forget to visit our rooftop terrace for an amazing panoramic view of downtown Washington DC. We hope you will come visit us again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

So I am stuck as to whether or not this was worth the money. The location is second to none as there are not many places you can hang out on the rooftop deck, grab a drink while watching the snipers walk on the roof of the White House as it literally is about 200 yards away. If you know The W brand you know that the ammenities and the atmosphere is as unique and well-appointed as it gets. There is definitely a specific scene this brand is trying to attract and I can appreciate that and along with all of this comes the price which I was well aware of. However the staff at The W D.C. left me unimpressed. Even if you are trying to attract a higher-end client overall, I would think that would require all staff to be as accomodating and friendly as possible. This, unfortunately, was not the case in our experience as we were consistantly questioned about our presence in the hotel by what I assume to be the security manager. More than once per day we not only had to provide our key cards but an accompanying credit card and photo id. Had our rooms electronic key access worked, we could have avoided a lot of this but we had to go down 3 separate times to have our keys reprogramed and each time the same process. The Guest Relations staff were rude and short with us no matter who it was. Everything was expensive, two drinks upstairs on the roof cost $32.00. Some perks were the valet parking, ease of getting a taxi and the rooms were appointed well and the beds were comfortable (Queen sized bed for $349/night rate).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello KRUdvare,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location with a short walk to many major landmarks in The District. We would like to apologize for the service you received during your stay. We take pride in our service and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We hope you will consider our hotel on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a convention nearby. This is a classic hotel modernized to the standard you expect from a W. I am a Starwood Platinum member and received a very nice upgrade to a fantastic Suite. The bedding was great, the bathroom was modern and clean and the technology in the room worked well. The ground floor restaurant served a great breakfast, but the star of the show was the rooftop terrace overlooking the White House. Super location backs on to Pennsylvania Avenue where you are close to monuments, museums, the Capitol, many restaurants and numerous business headquarters.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Brendan P,

Thank you for your review. We love our SPG Platinum Members and so happy you stayed with us. We do have a perfect location on Pennsylvania Ave with only steps to The White House and a short walk to many major landmarks. Please let us know when you plan your next trip and Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Room had a built in chaise, which was comfy for reading and a Koncept Z desk lamp (or similar), which was cool, and provided nice light

My only complaint was that they charge for wi-fi, the charge isn't crazy ~$15/day, but it was the first time I've had to pay in a while.

All of the other "little things" were good and added to the experience -- including having "Good Morning" mats in the elevator, in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello traveler_boston,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed your time. W Hotels are known for their modern style which we combined with our buildings historic design. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked W hotel without doing adequate research on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a very charming hotel, but I would consider it as a "boutique" property. The rooms were very trendy, clean, and the beds were superb. Although, the property was "fancy" and the staff were kind, it really was not the best choice for a family getaway. I found the prices extremely high even for a big city property. For example, we returned after a long day of walking with the children. As we entered the hotel, we made a quick pit stop at the lobby bar. My son, daughter, and their friends immediately ordered cold bottles of water. They opened them immediately due to the very hot August day, and the kind bartender stated, "would you like to charge the $30 to the room or pay cash"? Even my eight year old joked, $30 for five waters?? That evening we ordered room service. The service was exceptional, but the food was average at best. Two waters, two light beers, a grilled cheese, and chicken tenders in excess of $100. I would recommend that the W would be a great hotel for a couple to enjoy a romantic getaway, not set up for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello ghearst,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We would like to apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. W Hotels is a boutique lifestyle brand that bring the modern cool to life in our rooms and public spaces. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your experience. Please let us know when you make plans for your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.