We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Very Nicely Furnished” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #66 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Very Nicely Furnished”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Room had a built in chaise, which was comfy for reading and a Koncept Z desk lamp (or similar), which was cool, and provided nice light

My only complaint was that they charge for wi-fi, the charge isn't crazy ~$15/day, but it was the first time I've had to pay in a while.

All of the other "little things" were good and added to the experience -- including having "Good Morning" mats in the elevator, in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello traveler_boston,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us and enjoyed your time. W Hotels are known for their modern style which we combined with our buildings historic design. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    467
    218
    114
    74
See reviews for
228
430
117
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked W hotel without doing adequate research on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a very charming hotel, but I would consider it as a "boutique" property. The rooms were very trendy, clean, and the beds were superb. Although, the property was "fancy" and the staff were kind, it really was not the best choice for a family getaway. I found the prices extremely high even for a big city property. For example, we returned after a long day of walking with the children. As we entered the hotel, we made a quick pit stop at the lobby bar. My son, daughter, and their friends immediately ordered cold bottles of water. They opened them immediately due to the very hot August day, and the kind bartender stated, "would you like to charge the $30 to the room or pay cash"? Even my eight year old joked, $30 for five waters?? That evening we ordered room service. The service was exceptional, but the food was average at best. Two waters, two light beers, a grilled cheese, and chicken tenders in excess of $100. I would recommend that the W would be a great hotel for a couple to enjoy a romantic getaway, not set up for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello ghearst,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We would like to apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. W Hotels is a boutique lifestyle brand that bring the modern cool to life in our rooms and public spaces. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your experience. Please let us know when you make plans for your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the W for a quick business trip. Nice hotel with a boutique-y feel, good location in NW DC and a great hotel bar. Customer service at the hotel was great. Asked for a room with a better view (premium Starwoods member) and the staff was very accomodating and moved me to a different room (sent service to help me move with my bags and didn't have to return downstairs to the front desk). Also realized that I forgot some toiletries and staff was quickly sent to provide some available items. Room itself was modernly furnished and clean. I would return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello StevenC12345,

Thank you for your review. We love giving our signature Whatever/Whenever Service to make your stay special and unique. We do love our SPG Members and would like to thank you for your dedication to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next escape and please let us know if you need anything.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

While I will agree with the reviewer who said the halls are dark (ours was very dark), the rooms were light and airy and very comfortable. Every one of the staff we dealt with from bellhops, to doormen, to front counter and concierge gave us excellent service. We didn't have any room service, so I can't speak to that. The location was fabulous! We weren't in town all that long, but the proximity to the White House made it fun because we were able to "drop by" there several times. We could walk to all the monuments and even to the Capitol. I had one wrong charge on my bill and it was taken care of quickly.

I made sure ahead of time that we were nowhere near the disco and we had no noise troubles at all. They accommodated all of my requests.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor to avoid the noise of the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello GinOaklandCA,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our location with only a short walk to many major landmarks. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your review to our General Manager to share with our Hotel staff. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. The hotel is perfectly located for all of the tourist activities (right across the road from the White House, around the corner from one of the main open bus tours pick up points, and walking distance to the majority of museums). We also felt very safe walking around in this area early morning and late night.
The hotel's reception area is quite impressive and the service is very friendly. We thought it might be very posh and a bit pretentious, but we didn't feel this when we were there. There are a mix of tourists and business people roaming around.
The room itself is average - great facilities (gown, toiletries), very comfy beds, good shower - the reason I say average rather than great is because the room was slightly run down and not as clean as I'd have expected given the price of a room. We were out most of the time so this didn't affect us.
We didn't eat at the hotel but we went to the rooftop bar and the view is incredible!
I would recommend any tourists to stay here primarily based on the location.

Room Tip: We were floor 3 opposite the treasury. Lovely view but we were woken up by traffic fairly frequentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello MirandaBannerman,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location with only a few steps to The White House and a short walk to many major landmarks. We are so glad you were able to enjoy the panoramic views from our rooftop terrace. Please let us know when you plan your next escape and Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I guess I am too old (50) to appreciate the trendy chic indifferent approach to customer service. Hallways are dark and dingy, breakfast room service trays sit out all day in hallways, agreeing to "Green Service" means No Service, Lobby and Rooftop lounges are EXTREMELY LOUD.

Room Tip: Lobby and Rooftop lounges are VERY LOUD, SO BE CAREFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello GatorDavid,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the experience you had during your stay. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We hope you will consider our hotel on your next escape to Washington DC and please let us know when you make any future plans, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at the W Washington, DC many times and each stay I'm reminded why it's my number one hotel whenever I stay in Washington, DC.
* Amazing customer service. They really do go out of there way to take care of you.
* Great location. Across the street from U.S. Treasury Dept. and The White House. Just a few blocks walk to the National Mall. Taxis are easy to get if you need to go further out.
* The Rooftop lounge is the most partying and happening place in Washington, DC. Even on weeknights, it's a fun and festive place with a great view of Washington Monument and other DC landmarks.

This hotel is everything you expect in the standard of modern, hip, and contemporary looking hotel. The W Washington will make you not feel like leaving. I I give it five stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello CW-Bergen,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so glad you have made our hotel your home away from home when visiting Washington DC. We will be sharing your review with our General Manager to celebrate with our hotel staff. We hope to welcome you “home” very soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington DC
#76 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#18 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.