We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My #1 Hotel When I Stay In DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #68 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My #1 Hotel When I Stay In DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed at the W Washington, DC many times and each stay I'm reminded why it's my number one hotel whenever I stay in Washington, DC.
* Amazing customer service. They really do go out of there way to take care of you.
* Great location. Across the street from U.S. Treasury Dept. and The White House. Just a few blocks walk to the National Mall. Taxis are easy to get if you need to go further out.
* The Rooftop lounge is the most partying and happening place in Washington, DC. Even on weeknights, it's a fun and festive place with a great view of Washington Monument and other DC landmarks.

This hotel is everything you expect in the standard of modern, hip, and contemporary looking hotel. The W Washington will make you not feel like leaving. I I give it five stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello CW-Bergen,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so glad you have made our hotel your home away from home when visiting Washington DC. We will be sharing your review with our General Manager to celebrate with our hotel staff. We hope to welcome you “home” very soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    451
    210
    113
    72
See reviews for
214
414
114
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuneo, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

W Washington is a really nice property.
Great location next to the White House
Friendly staff.
I got upgraded to a suite, amazing.
W Lounge in on the roof, so you will not get disturbed
Whatever-Whenever staff was so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello acirrincione76,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you stayed with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We love giving our signature Whatever/Whenever service to make your stay special and unique. We hope to welcome you back on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

So I traditionally only stay in Starwood properties since I know what I'm going to get once I arrive.
This trip to DC had me staying up the street from my last stay (4 Points) @ the W.

I love the style and feel the W and of course the view is worth the price of admission.

Special thanks to Clare - Front Desk Services who went above and beyond to ensure my stay was great. She greeted me with a smile and always asked how my day was and what could she do to make it better! Class Employee!

Also thanks to Nomar - on the rooftop lounge who made sure their award winning breakfast buffet met my expectations.

When traveling ask for a room with a view overlooking Treasury. Well worth the price.

Only negative was the rooftop drink prices can get pricey but hey it's the W and that's to be expected.

I'll be back in a few weeks and looking forward to another stellar trip!

This W gets 4/5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Reggie C,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We will be sharing your review and shout-outs to Clare and Nomar with our General Manager to celebrate with our staff. We greatly appreciate you as a dedicated Starwood guest. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The W Hotel is very nice. The bar is in the lobby and the rooftop bar becomes very busy at night and a line forms in the hotel lobby at night for patrons waiting to go up to the roof. As a guest, you never have to wait for the elevator, and can go right up to the roof.
A tip--reserve a table early for seating at the rooftop bar.
Rooms are small and appointed nicely.
The staff is nice and friendly. The locations just can't be beat--it is close to everything.
J&G Steakhouse is located in the hotel and is under renovation until the end of September. Do not miss it when it come back--the best steaks in DC!
The Bliss spa is small and we could never get an appointment.
A very nice 5 day stay at the W.

Room Tip: If you have a chance, request a room with a view of the white house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello cjs4,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location with only steps to The White House and a short walk to many major landmarks. We look forward to the opening of the new renovated J&G Steakhouse and the amazing creations from Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon stay as my husband had such a glowing recommendation for it from a recent business trip... And it didn't disappoint. The rooms are small but beautifully decorated with comfy beds, great shower and a fun mini bar. The option of complimentary coffee or iced water on arrival or departure is a nice touch too.

Staff are friendly and the place is immaculate.

Then- the best bit- the rooftop bar is a real treat. Definitely make reservations in advance as tables get taken and this way you get a guaranteed seat and great service. The cocktails are pricey at $15 each but are delicious too- the mojitos are one of the best I've had. The real reason for a visit is the unique view- as the closest hotel to The White House, this hotel is in a prime location to get a view not everyone will have the chance to see. We were lucky enough to see Marine 1 land which was really exciting.

A great bonus is the fact that this is the place to be on a Friday and Saturday night in DC, which comes with a guest list an queue to get to the bar... Unless you're a guest and you walk right in- amazing!

In summary- this place is cool and chic but fun and delicious too. I will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Traveling_Wide,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you stayed with us on your recent trip to Washington DC. We do have the best panoramic views of The District from our rooftop terrace and handcrafted cocktails that will tempt your taste buds. We hope you will come visit us again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Basically next door to the White House - incredibly location for getting around the city. Beautiful room, fantastic bar on the roof with a great view of the White House & the Washington Monument, also a really nice bar on the ground floor & great service. Top choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello mikesullivanuk,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We do have a perfect location with only steps to The White House and a short walk to many major landmarks. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is in perfect location and has a fun, trendy boutiquey vibe. Service varied greatly when it came to the "whatever/whenever" (their concierge service). One guy was professional and helpful, another woman was bored and unhelpful. Sometimes the sceney trendiness gets in the way- the bartenders were overwhelmed in the lobby and service suffered. The roof deck views are amazing, but if you don't have a reservation - which you need far in advance even on a weeknight- you will be standing awkwardly behind people at their reserved tables.

The room was great- our only complaint was you could hear every toilet flush, doors closing etc. Our room had a separate hallway and it was still loud.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello Chfoss,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service you received. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address our service culture. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington DC
#77 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard by Marriott Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#61 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.