We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor room layout but good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #90 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
San Pedro, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor room layout but good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I know W Hotels are supposed to be kind of funky & cool, but we expected the one across the street from the White House to have comfortable rooms with a nice & normal layout. Or maybe, it's just too funky for our taste. the furniture is white plastic or maybe laquer. The sink portion of the bath room is in the bedroom, not the bathroom. It had minimal counter space and was right next to the luggage stand, so I was constantly worried about getting everything wet. Who puts the sink in the bedroom in a "high" end property?? The actual bathroom is also poorly laid out. It contains the toilet and shower. They give you a robe and it hangs right next to the shower. But you can't open the shower door unless you move the robe hanger. And there is no place in the bathroom for the bath towels. You have to get them from the bedroom and put them on the bathroom floor or throw them over the shower door. The entire layout is so poor that it makes you very uncomfortable.

On the positive side, the service is pretty good. The bellman brought us ice and the hotel offers complementary shoe shines. Too bad they delivered the shoes many hours after they promised them, and then only when we called to find out where they were. The hotel is greatly located, across the street from the White House, and walking distance from many museums and tourist destinations. However, if this room layout is typical for a W property, we won't frequent this brand again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor facing the White House and/or the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Lori R,

Thank you for your feedback. W’s are known for their modern design mixed with the local culture. Our designers we inspired by the original French Renaissance styling to create a unique destination in Washington DC. Because of the historic nature of our building we were not able to make large changes to the structure of the rooms. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please email us at wdcsocial@whotels.com and let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    331
    154
    87
    57
See reviews for
133
293
88
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Washington hotels are pricey, once you add the W chain - and one which is opposite the White House (complete with rooftop bar looking onto the same) - you know that you're going to have to dig deep. That said, I love W hotels. The OTT decor, the minimalist bedrooms, bliss spa toiletries, modern sleek look and feel, the effortlessly obsequious staff. All of this is captured in this W hotel. Oddly the decor on the floors made me think they ran out of budget as each floor is brown. Very brown. Monotone brown. I felt like an Umpalumpa sent by Mr Wonka himself to clean the lines. By hand. The lobby is the usual understated W with massive chandeliers, table service and perennially chipper reception staff.

The location is great within moments of the White House and the Washington Monument. You can walk to the Reflecting Pool in 15 mins, the Lincoln Memorial in 20. Jefferson memorial in 20ish. You can make the smithsonian and Holocaust museums in 15. It's all very central. There's a few stores around like CVS, Starbucks, Borders etc. There's little by way of shopping. If you are on business travel, the location is ideal too as the law firms, think tanks etc are all in the area.

The rooftop view is great looking into Washington at night and the drinks are good too.

If you're a big W fan, you may find this one lacking. Just something about it doesn't "pop" as I'm sure the W creative team would put it. There are a lot of hotels in this City but is suspect this one feels a lot less corporate, stuffy and old fashioned as the others. It's the usually W trendy which makes for a break in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Icollens,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location in downtown Washington with a short walk to many of the major landmarks and businesses. We are happy you love our modern design and W vibe. We love offering our signature Whatever/Whenever service to make each stay unique. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know anything you need.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We really wanted a hotel that was walking distance from everything and the W had that, plus more. The service was amazing. The moment we walked in the door the employees were very kind and welcoming. Plus, to be greeted with champagne after being delayed several times due to flights and the weather made it that much better! We were upgraded to an amazing room with a view of the White House! Who wouldn't want that? The only down side is the music coming from the club above, but honestly I could barely hear the music, maybe the bass every once and a while. Talk about comfort after a long flight, you just melt into the bed. They are so comfortable and have mood lighting that can make your stay romantic or peaceful as you'd like. We tried the J&G steakhouse it was good. The hamachi sashimi and jumbo crab cake was delectable. As for the tomahawk steak, it left way more than to be desired. Maybe it's because we are from the Midwest and spoiled by our beef but the piece of meat was very fatty and burnt. Defiantly not worth the money. As for the other food, I would highly recommend eating there! Plus, have their vodka thyme lemonade it's a deadly, but very delicious cocktail! The P.O.V. (Point of view) Bar has amazing view from uptop the hotel and fun/ vibrant atmosphere, we would suggest that if you want to have a light meal you have to book in advance because they are busy and I would agree that it's a hot spot for DC. There were many visitors from all over coming to POV! But one great aspect about the hotel is the amazing security, you've gotta have a key to get to your floor. It's very controlled and makes you feel safe. The living room is located in the lobby and offers comfort with chic design that makes you want to cozy up on the couches to listen to the live music at night. We plan on staying here again. Don't just take our word for it try out the W hotel! It's a very busy hotel but you'd never know once you've found your amazing beautiful room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Traveling2live,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We are so happy you stayed with us. We do have the perfect location with walking distance to many of the District’s major landmarks. We hope to welcome you back soon and please email us when you plan your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As an SPG Gold I always try to stay at a starwood property as much as I can however the W is one of my least favorite brands due to the "VIP exclusive nightclub" feel that you get starting from the big men in suits where the bellmen should be, the dim lighting, and the infamous red rope. I'm more of a Westin or Le Meredien kinda guy but the W in DC totally surprised me. This property seems to have the right balance of cool mixed in with a good dose of accommodation and hospitality. The first thing i noticed is that they kept the original awning from The Washington Hotel, a staple in DC for years. The awning even has the old name "The Washington Hotel" engraved on the sides +++++++I can appreciate the efforts to preserve the antiquity especially from a brand that embraces modernity. The lobby is great, nice decor, cool colors and a cool bar. I had a standard room on the 8th floor facing the white house so the view was great! Decent sized room for a downtown hotel. Decor was modern but warm, welcoming and comfy. Bed was very comfortable and room was fully stocked each day.

The POV lounge is amazing, the views to the epicenter of power in our country is awesome. The drinks were reasonably priced and were good enough and the bartenders were all nice and friendly. It's really a cool hangout so unless your looking for a wild club scene the POV will suffice for a good night of drinks and good company.


The staff were all great, from the valet to the front desk to room keeping. I was pleased with everyone as they all seemed to be engaged and very attentive.

The only complaint I have about this property would be the elevators, the are tiny and run really slow ( the price you pay for antiquity) but unless your in a major hurry it shouldn't take away too much from an otherwise great property!!!

Room Tip: Try and get floors 8+ facing the White House...you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello dgirma1980,

Thank you for your review. We do love our SPG Members and so happy you came to stay with us. We do have a perfect location with amazing views from our rooftop bar. Our designers were inspired by the history and historic nature of our building which they combined with W’s modern cool. We would like to apologize for the elevator service you experienced during your stay. We hope you will consider our hotel on your next escape and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I booked a long weekend trip in DC to see the sights, eat some good food, and walk the capital. The Hotel is centrally located and you couldn't ask for a better location. When we arrived the staff was very friendly. The lobby is very modern and clean and they were serving hot apple cider. (it was December) When we checked into the hotel our rooms was very small, I have traveled to Europe many times and have not stayed in a room so small. The room was very modern and clean, but not very functional. I would not stay here again, especially for the money I would expect a little more luxury. To be honest it felt like I was in a cheap Miami South Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Maconballer,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We would love to speak with you more about your stay if you could please email us at wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I gave three stars only because the bed and shower was good. By any standard, this was a very small room. The bedding was good and the shower was nice. There was no extra room for anything on the bathroom vanity and not enough room in the main area for a chair. Coffee in the room seems to be a novel idea for the W. I saw a coffee maker on the hallway floor and wondered why we didn't have one. I called and was told, "oh yes... we have a machine. But, you have to request it!" What? Why? Two days later, I woke and got ready to make coffee, but no mugs... looked further and no coffee! I called down and was told that I need to ask for coffee and mugs each day. Oh brother! Finally, after three attempts, the girl got us our styrofoam cups, creamer and ... yes, coffee. The girl at the door told us that the machines are *very* expensive. Oh my goodness. Do they have any idea how much a glass of wine costs on their roof top bar??? Please! Then there's the turn-down service. The one night we didn't call, they had come in and shut the curtains, but didn't bother to turn the bed down. And the air... it barely turned on... the room was always too warm. There's more, but needless to say, for this kind of money, we won't be returning!

Room Tip: Good luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello tkv64,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you liked our signature W Bed and large shower. We would like to apologize for issues you had during your stay. We do offer complimentary coffee in our lobby for our guests. Because of the historic nature of the building we were not able to change the structure. But this is what inspired our designers to combine the original French Renaissance styling with the modern cool W’s are known for. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please email at wdcsocial@whotels.com and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are looking for a loud energetic hotel, this is the one for you. I am not sure you can actually get a good night's rest, but clearly if you are looking to party, this is the place to be. You are literally sandwiched between the bass thumping club on the top floor and the lobby music DJ. So, we started on the 8th floor, which was 2-3 floors from the rooftop club. The bass came right through the floors or was ricocheting off of the treasury building. We were moved to the 4th floor which was better, but we experienced a bit of the lobby music. Anyways, I am not sure there is true refuge from the party, so only stay here if you plan on having numerous cocktails and then pass out. A quiet it is not. The location is great for tourism though. Last negative was the valet services. I'm not sure they care who the guests are since nobody offered to help us with bags and seemed uninterested in where our car was. $50 a night for parking should get some service. The front desk folks were awesome so I value what Starwood does.

Room Tip: Choose a mid floor room to avoid the music on both the roof and the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Shane K,

Thank you for your review. We do have a modern design mixed with the original French Renaissance style of the building. We would like to apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. We would love to speak with you more about your stay. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#81 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Washington DC Hotel is located in the heart of the city with convenient access to all of the great locations in DC. The W Washington DC Hotel looks forward to welcoming you. Please Note: From June 23 through mid-September, the restaurant at the W Washington DC will be closed for renovation. In addition, POV will be closed beginning July 26 to September 5. During this time, food service will be available in our W Living Room and in-room dining will operate as usual ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.