We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Hotel = Contemporary Boudoir meets Disco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Save Saved
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #90 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“W Hotel = Contemporary Boudoir meets Disco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent...Whitehouse and Mall just a few blocks away. The personnel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The carpet in the room was shag and had large stains, the bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was a frosted glass rectangle and water did leak onto the carpet by the bed (and on our luggage) toilet was inside this strange bathroom but the sink was outside...I don't find this convenient at all. Plus if you are sharing the room with a friend you may have to leave when they take a shower because it was peek a boo with all the glass. Forget about ordering coffee or food....extremely expensive $6 for a coffee, a hamburger is $18 ...lots of coffee shops/restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello artarage,

Thank you for your feedback. We are in a perfect location with the best views of the city from our rooftop bar. We would like to apologize for the incidence you had with your shower leaking. We want you to be able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. We will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address the issue. We hope you will keep us in mind on your next escape to Washington DC.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    349
    157
    91
    60
See reviews for
144
303
93
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel used to be the Washington Hotel but has since been refurbished and converted to The W Hotel. It is within walking distance to major attractions. You can throw a sandwich to the White House (across the street). The lobby staff deserves 5+ stars. The vibe of the hotel is very hip and modern. There is a rooftop lounge that is very popular with local nightlife and you can feel that energy all the way down in the lobby.

If you like your hotel room to be modern and contemporary, then this is the place for you. My room was very clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable, feather or feather like quality.

The design of the bathroom is the one minor misstep here. The lack of privacy in the bathroom makes this room not ideal for friends to share a room. The toilet feels and looks cheap, really out of place for the overall decor of the room and hotel. The quality of the food at the restaurant was moderate.

Room Tip: Stay below 10th floor. The rooftop lounge may keep a light sleeper up late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Carrie L,

Thank you for your review. Our designers were inspired by the French Renaissance styling of our original building and combined that with W’s modern cool to create our unique look. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to celebrate with our Hotel staff. We hope you will come visit us again soon and please send us an email with Whatever/Whenever you need on your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The W has an excellent location for business or leisure. The basic room is very small. I found it acceptable for solo business travel, but it would have been uncomfortable for two people. Given the cost, it is not a great value. The bed and bathroom are well designed. Room service was good (prompt and reasonably priced). Luckily the club-vibe that W hotels strive for seems to have toned down since my prior stay. Hallway noise could be a problem for light sleepers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello AvidTraveler941,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location, for business or pleasure, in Washington DC with a short walk to many of the major landmarks. Because of the historic nature of our building we were not able to change the structure of the rooms. We hope you come back to visit us again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, the good points: the hotel is clean, the employees are efficient and friendly (not gushing, but not imperious either), the location is great, and the rooms appear to have been recently remodeled and are also quite clean, with nice bathrooms.

The rooms, however, are fairly small. This wasn't a problem for me, who stayed four nights on business and so was by myself. But for two people you're probably not going to want to spend a lot of time in the room. For me, the size of the room is a deal-breaker for a vacation hotel. Also, the style of the room was contemporary and, for the money anyway, seemed a tiny bit on the cheap side. Your mileage may vary on that; I'm sure that a lot of people will be perfectly happy with the décor.

The main complaint with my stay is that the hotel seemed to be trying to squeeze as much money out of me as possible. There were several of those for-sale water bottles around, for one. I know that this is pretty normal even in nicer hotels, but there seemed to be too many of them in this size room. Also, there were no movie channels on the TV, the idea presumably being that you'll have to pay for a movie instead of watching one on cable. There were also several other items with price tags on it in the room (a glorified grocery bag, for example). If I'm paying over $300 a night for a hotel, I think that I'm handing over enough money to not have to be confronted with encouragements to spend more. Perhaps I'm being too picky, but it didn't make me feel at home.

One final thing: There are several complaints about the noise coming from the bar on top of the hotel. During my four nights, I didn't have any experience of this until Friday night, when I could slightly hear the bass from the bar (I was on the fourth floor). The worse part was a very loud conversation taking place on the street that woke me up sometime past midnight. At four floors up one wouldn't expect to be awakened from talking on the street, right?

Room Tip: From having read other reviews, I would recommend a lower floor, at least on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Bathroom privacy is non-existent. The bathroom door slides, but doesn't close completely, and the walls of the bathroom do not reach the ceiling. The lighting in the room was painfully inadequate. Putting on makeup was extremely frustrating and almost impossible. The lighting in the rest room in the lobby was worse. The stalls were so dark, I couldn't use them. The room was very small for two people. We had to continually get out of each other's way to move about. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Elevator service was poor. The hotel is overpriced, and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Buhia D,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. Because of the historic nature of our building we were not able to change much of the layout of the rooms when remodeling. We would like to apologize that your escape was not relaxing and we would love to speak with you in regards to your stay. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com with your contact information and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montcherand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

A suite where the sofa is old and durty, a patio where a guest of the hotel cannot book a table to meet with his client, (certain) employees' behaviour close to the unacceptable, and, and, and...
W pretends to create a new style, the problem is that they do not have any style.
Just inadequate considering the price charged. We should never say never again, but...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Christophe R,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service you received during your stay. We would love to speak with you in regards to the service you received. Please send us an email with your contact information to wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of all the sites you would want to see. Practically across the street from the White House! The hotel has all the charm that you would expect in such a historic area with the finishing touches the W is known for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello TD64,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you love the modern design W’s are known for. We do have the perfect location with steps to The White House and a short walk to many of the District’s major landmarks. We hope to welcome you back again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Washington DC Hotel is located in the heart of the city with convenient access to all of the great locations in DC. The W Washington DC Hotel looks forward to welcoming you. Please note: Pinea restaurant at the W Washington DC will open late September. During this time, breakfast will be available in our Living Room Monday through Friday 6:30 am - 10:30 am and Saturday and Sunday 7:30 am - 10:30 am, in-room dining will operate as usual. POV will reopen following renovations on September 5th at 6 pm and will serve food 11 am - 11 pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.