We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #66 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel used to be the Washington Hotel but has since been refurbished and converted to The W Hotel. It is within walking distance to major attractions. You can throw a sandwich to the White House (across the street). The lobby staff deserves 5+ stars. The vibe of the hotel is very hip and modern. There is a rooftop lounge that is very popular with local nightlife and you can feel that energy all the way down in the lobby.

If you like your hotel room to be modern and contemporary, then this is the place for you. My room was very clean. Bed and pillows were very comfortable, feather or feather like quality.

The design of the bathroom is the one minor misstep here. The lack of privacy in the bathroom makes this room not ideal for friends to share a room. The toilet feels and looks cheap, really out of place for the overall decor of the room and hotel. The quality of the food at the restaurant was moderate.

Room Tip: Stay below 10th floor. The rooftop lounge may keep a light sleeper up late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Carrie L,

Thank you for your review. Our designers were inspired by the French Renaissance styling of our original building and combined that with W’s modern cool to create our unique look. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to celebrate with our Hotel staff. We hope you will come visit us again soon and please send us an email with Whatever/Whenever you need on your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    426
    196
    105
    67
See reviews for
186
380
110
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The W has an excellent location for business or leisure. The basic room is very small. I found it acceptable for solo business travel, but it would have been uncomfortable for two people. Given the cost, it is not a great value. The bed and bathroom are well designed. Room service was good (prompt and reasonably priced). Luckily the club-vibe that W hotels strive for seems to have toned down since my prior stay. Hallway noise could be a problem for light sleepers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello AvidTraveler941,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect location, for business or pleasure, in Washington DC with a short walk to many of the major landmarks. Because of the historic nature of our building we were not able to change the structure of the rooms. We hope you come back to visit us again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, the good points: the hotel is clean, the employees are efficient and friendly (not gushing, but not imperious either), the location is great, and the rooms appear to have been recently remodeled and are also quite clean, with nice bathrooms.

The rooms, however, are fairly small. This wasn't a problem for me, who stayed four nights on business and so was by myself. But for two people you're probably not going to want to spend a lot of time in the room. For me, the size of the room is a deal-breaker for a vacation hotel. Also, the style of the room was contemporary and, for the money anyway, seemed a tiny bit on the cheap side. Your mileage may vary on that; I'm sure that a lot of people will be perfectly happy with the décor.

The main complaint with my stay is that the hotel seemed to be trying to squeeze as much money out of me as possible. There were several of those for-sale water bottles around, for one. I know that this is pretty normal even in nicer hotels, but there seemed to be too many of them in this size room. Also, there were no movie channels on the TV, the idea presumably being that you'll have to pay for a movie instead of watching one on cable. There were also several other items with price tags on it in the room (a glorified grocery bag, for example). If I'm paying over $300 a night for a hotel, I think that I'm handing over enough money to not have to be confronted with encouragements to spend more. Perhaps I'm being too picky, but it didn't make me feel at home.

One final thing: There are several complaints about the noise coming from the bar on top of the hotel. During my four nights, I didn't have any experience of this until Friday night, when I could slightly hear the bass from the bar (I was on the fourth floor). The worse part was a very loud conversation taking place on the street that woke me up sometime past midnight. At four floors up one wouldn't expect to be awakened from talking on the street, right?

Room Tip: From having read other reviews, I would recommend a lower floor, at least on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Bathroom privacy is non-existent. The bathroom door slides, but doesn't close completely, and the walls of the bathroom do not reach the ceiling. The lighting in the room was painfully inadequate. Putting on makeup was extremely frustrating and almost impossible. The lighting in the rest room in the lobby was worse. The stalls were so dark, I couldn't use them. The room was very small for two people. We had to continually get out of each other's way to move about. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Elevator service was poor. The hotel is overpriced, and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Buhia D,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. Because of the historic nature of our building we were not able to change much of the layout of the rooms when remodeling. We would like to apologize that your escape was not relaxing and we would love to speak with you in regards to your stay. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com with your contact information and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montcherand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A suite where the sofa is old and durty, a patio where a guest of the hotel cannot book a table to meet with his client, (certain) employees' behaviour close to the unacceptable, and, and, and...
W pretends to create a new style, the problem is that they do not have any style.
Just inadequate considering the price charged. We should never say never again, but...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Christophe R,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service you received during your stay. We would love to speak with you in regards to the service you received. Please send us an email with your contact information to wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of all the sites you would want to see. Practically across the street from the White House! The hotel has all the charm that you would expect in such a historic area with the finishing touches the W is known for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello TD64,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you love the modern design W’s are known for. We do have the perfect location with steps to The White House and a short walk to many of the District’s major landmarks. We hope to welcome you back again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice hotel but room was a bit small. We called 2 weeks prior to arriving to make sure that we would have two beds and were told they were all out but we could get a rollaway. The night before we called again and were told there was no way a rollaway could fit in that room and they were totally booked so we were stuck with a king (which was more like a queen) for two adults and one teenager. The teenager had to sleep on the floor of this tiny room.

The shower had frosted glass walls which could be seen from the main part of the room so there was no privacy when showering. It's okay with a couple but not if you are traveling with children/teenagers. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door and there was a big gap so you could totally see someone sitting on the john.

We wanted to take advantage of the free acura ride and talked to someone twice about making a reservation and was told twice that someone would call us back. No one ever did so we ended up having to take a cab to Georgetown for dinner which cost us $17. Wasn't happy about that.

I also had to make a phone call and wanted to use my credit card because it was cheaper than dialing directly from the room phone but it wouldn't work so I called the front desk for help and after she put me on hold a couple of times, she said she would just patch me through. I thought she was being nice and it wasn't going to cost me anything but surprise surprise, it cost me $14.70 for a one minute call to my husband's cell phone. Wasn't too happy about that either.

The location was great but I felt like this hotel was overpriced and wanted to put a price tag for every little thing. Our room was an interior room and away from the elevator and it wasn't noisey at all so I was happy about that.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Choo Choo C C,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We would like to apologize for the miscommunication of your room and the rollaway bed prior to your stay. We want you to be able to enjoy your time with your family and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We would like to speak with you more in regards to your stay with us. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com with your contact information and we will be sure to get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.