We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you like this sort of place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Washington DC

Save Saved
You added W Washington DC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Washington DC
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Upper Northwest)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #88 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Austin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“if you like this sort of place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

First, the good points: the hotel is clean, the employees are efficient and friendly (not gushing, but not imperious either), the location is great, and the rooms appear to have been recently remodeled and are also quite clean, with nice bathrooms.

The rooms, however, are fairly small. This wasn't a problem for me, who stayed four nights on business and so was by myself. But for two people you're probably not going to want to spend a lot of time in the room. For me, the size of the room is a deal-breaker for a vacation hotel. Also, the style of the room was contemporary and, for the money anyway, seemed a tiny bit on the cheap side. Your mileage may vary on that; I'm sure that a lot of people will be perfectly happy with the décor.

The main complaint with my stay is that the hotel seemed to be trying to squeeze as much money out of me as possible. There were several of those for-sale water bottles around, for one. I know that this is pretty normal even in nicer hotels, but there seemed to be too many of them in this size room. Also, there were no movie channels on the TV, the idea presumably being that you'll have to pay for a movie instead of watching one on cable. There were also several other items with price tags on it in the room (a glorified grocery bag, for example). If I'm paying over $300 a night for a hotel, I think that I'm handing over enough money to not have to be confronted with encouragements to spend more. Perhaps I'm being too picky, but it didn't make me feel at home.

One final thing: There are several complaints about the noise coming from the bar on top of the hotel. During my four nights, I didn't have any experience of this until Friday night, when I could slightly hear the bass from the bar (I was on the fourth floor). The worse part was a very loud conversation taking place on the street that woke me up sometime past midnight. At four floors up one wouldn't expect to be awakened from talking on the street, right?

Room Tip: From having read other reviews, I would recommend a lower floor, at least on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    340
    156
    88
    57
See reviews for
140
297
89
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Bathroom privacy is non-existent. The bathroom door slides, but doesn't close completely, and the walls of the bathroom do not reach the ceiling. The lighting in the room was painfully inadequate. Putting on makeup was extremely frustrating and almost impossible. The lighting in the rest room in the lobby was worse. The stalls were so dark, I couldn't use them. The room was very small for two people. We had to continually get out of each other's way to move about. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Elevator service was poor. The hotel is overpriced, and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Buhia D,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. Because of the historic nature of our building we were not able to change much of the layout of the rooms when remodeling. We would like to apologize that your escape was not relaxing and we would love to speak with you in regards to your stay. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com with your contact information and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montcherand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

A suite where the sofa is old and durty, a patio where a guest of the hotel cannot book a table to meet with his client, (certain) employees' behaviour close to the unacceptable, and, and, and...
W pretends to create a new style, the problem is that they do not have any style.
Just inadequate considering the price charged. We should never say never again, but...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Christophe R,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service you received during your stay. We would love to speak with you in regards to the service you received. Please send us an email with your contact information to wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of all the sites you would want to see. Practically across the street from the White House! The hotel has all the charm that you would expect in such a historic area with the finishing touches the W is known for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello TD64,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you love the modern design W’s are known for. We do have the perfect location with steps to The White House and a short walk to many of the District’s major landmarks. We hope to welcome you back again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice hotel but room was a bit small. We called 2 weeks prior to arriving to make sure that we would have two beds and were told they were all out but we could get a rollaway. The night before we called again and were told there was no way a rollaway could fit in that room and they were totally booked so we were stuck with a king (which was more like a queen) for two adults and one teenager. The teenager had to sleep on the floor of this tiny room.

The shower had frosted glass walls which could be seen from the main part of the room so there was no privacy when showering. It's okay with a couple but not if you are traveling with children/teenagers. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door and there was a big gap so you could totally see someone sitting on the john.

We wanted to take advantage of the free acura ride and talked to someone twice about making a reservation and was told twice that someone would call us back. No one ever did so we ended up having to take a cab to Georgetown for dinner which cost us $17. Wasn't happy about that.

I also had to make a phone call and wanted to use my credit card because it was cheaper than dialing directly from the room phone but it wouldn't work so I called the front desk for help and after she put me on hold a couple of times, she said she would just patch me through. I thought she was being nice and it wasn't going to cost me anything but surprise surprise, it cost me $14.70 for a one minute call to my husband's cell phone. Wasn't too happy about that either.

The location was great but I felt like this hotel was overpriced and wanted to put a price tag for every little thing. Our room was an interior room and away from the elevator and it wasn't noisey at all so I was happy about that.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Choo Choo C C,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We would like to apologize for the miscommunication of your room and the rollaway bed prior to your stay. We want you to be able to enjoy your time with your family and will be sending your feedback to our General Manager to address. We would like to speak with you more in regards to your stay with us. Please send us an email to wdcsocial@whotels.com with your contact information and we will be sure to get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, this hotel is super awesome, then again, my aunt paid for it. I personally don't pay W prices, but am MORE than happy to enjoy it when I can. I loved the location, before 6 pm as it seemed everything right around here closed early. It was a quick walk to Lincoln memorial and beautiful parks. We came here for the cherry blossoms, which had unfortunately blossomed a week early. Oh well. had a great time, great service, good food, swanky decor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Brooklynn H,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We do have a great location with a short walk to many of Washington’s major landmarks. Don’t miss our breathtaking panoramic views of the city from our rooftop on your next escape. Please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here over Easter and arrived mid morning after a red eye flight from the West to a room ready for us. We were checked in very quickly and efficiently and headed up to our room. The lobby of the hotel was gorgeous and inviting, and there was acoustic music some of the evenings. The concierge was helpful and able to gave us some good tips for exploring DC. Our room was on a mid floor but near the elevators and ice machine. This was only a problem on the Friday and Saturday nights when (likely) intoxicated individuals seemed to be continuing the party after leaving the roof top night club. The bathroom door is a slider and does not go all the way to the wall---that was a bit odd. Our room was big enough for the two of us and contained a king bed. The bathroom was massive. The room was decorated nicely and had an amenities that we required.
We didn't have a view and were actually curious if people could see into our room from the other wing of the hotel..they had smoked glass and we didn't seem to, so we just kept our blinds drawn, it's not like we had anything to see!
Finally, the location is really what sold us. We were nearby all the major sites and also near a subway station. We walked to the tidal basin, white house, capital building, the memorial sites and the Smithsonian. We were a short taxi away from the airport and Georgetown. We were able to walk to the Verizon center and close to shopping and restaurants. If you aren't going to spend much time at your hotel other than sleeping, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHotelDC, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello LB1982,

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and giving our insider access to the city. We do have the perfect location next to The White House and a short walk to many of Washington’s major landmarks. Our Living Room area is very popular on Friday and Saturday nights featuring what’s NEW/NEXT in music. We look forward to welcoming you back and please send us an email when you plan your next escape, wdcsocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Address: 515 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#77 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Washington DC Hotel is located in the heart of the city with convenient access to all of the great locations in DC. The W Washington DC Hotel looks forward to welcoming you. Please Note: From June 23 through mid-September, the restaurant at the W Washington DC will be closed for renovation. In addition, POV will be closed beginning July 26 to September 5. During this time, food service will be available in our W Living Room and in-room dining will operate as usual ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Washington DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.