We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of the above, but . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Tree Inn
5th and Constitution Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“All of the above, but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Definitely can recommend this lovely B & B. Quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of a weekend's worth of sightseeing and eating. Gorgeous house, exquisite food, and all the amenities a guest could ask for EXCEPT . . . there's no place to park! We arrived late and tired on a Friday night. Where do we park? "Anyplace." Except that there isn't any place. We drove around for 15 minutes suspecting this was some kind of cosmic joke. There wasn't a space to be had anywhere on the street. Finally, we found a school zone a couple blocks away that was open on weekends for public parking. The parking issue alone will prohibit our return, which is a shame. It's truly a lovely place--if you're arriving in a cab.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Apple Tree Inn was an exquisite bed and breakfast. The Inn is close walking distance to all the Washington sigts. The hosts were welcoming and easily accommodating. The room was clean, bright and tastefully decorated. The breakfast had an assortment of offerings which were fresh and delicious. The conversations with the hosts were friendly and neighbourly. The relaxed living space was splendid. We WILL holiday with Apple Tree Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are planning to make a point of going back to DC soon JUST to enjoy this lovely B&B right in the heart of Washington. The hosts and the accommodations could not be better. The nearness to Union Station, subways, and museums a big plus. You can take the train in and not drive for your whole stay in DC. A truly relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived to the Apple Tree Inn and were met by Robyn and Simon who were extremely friendly and helpful. We found out that they only hire one room in their house out so you got very special service from them. Our room was on the top floor at the front of their house on a very nice but quiet street. The location of this place is really good and a very safe neighbourhood. The bathroom was nice and shower was great. They had lots of information which we found very helpful. We were given a menu each night for what we wanted for breakfast each morning and the choice was absolutely amazing, and to top it off it was the first place that did a really good hot chocolate it the USA! This place was one of my favourites during our stay in the USA where we stayed at about 5 different accommodations. Absolutely would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and i recently stayed at the Apple Tree for a weekend in DC. I had see the ratings on the Inn before booking it and was very happy to find that it was exactly what the raters said. The room was very nice, the bed excellent and the breakfast as cooked by the host were very good. The location was within walking distance of the Capitol and Air and Space Museum which we visited. It also was within walking distance of 3 or 4 small local restaurants, two of which we also visited in the evening. The hosts have more tourist information than you can ever review so you don't need to take any with you. They also had our parking pass which is required for parking on the streets in that area.
All in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a wonderful home graced with Spanish water dog Teddy and his buddy, feline Fred. I enjoyed a lovely 3rd floor room with bay window--see photo-that looks over Constitution Avenue. The room is lovely and clean and indeed was quite relaxing. The proprietors are welcoming and quite helpful. With their encouragement I tried the Capital Bikeshare program nearby and biked all over the Mall. I had wonderful, made-to-order breakfasts and the whole key entry thing is simplified for the traveler's benefit.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I used a map and thought for a while where I would be spending my time before I selected my spot. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, departing Sunday 14th October. It is just a great place, great position, only a few minutes to public transport or you can walk to Capitol Hill, a corner store, pub, restaurants, takeaway food only a few mins away. Simon looked after us very well cooked delicious breakfasts and the house is very cosy, roomy , you feel very comfortable,the bed, bathroom all perfect, more like visiting good friends who have a nice house. We really enjoyed Washington DC and recommend to stay a minimum of 5 nights to really enjoy the various parts of the city. There is a lot to see and enjoy and more relaxing when you are in a nice local quiet street.

Room Tip: There is just one room and it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 5th and Constitution Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list