We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Tree Inn
5th and Constitution Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and i recently stayed at the Apple Tree for a weekend in DC. I had see the ratings on the Inn before booking it and was very happy to find that it was exactly what the raters said. The room was very nice, the bed excellent and the breakfast as cooked by the host were very good. The location was within walking distance of the Capitol and Air and Space Museum which we visited. It also was within walking distance of 3 or 4 small local restaurants, two of which we also visited in the evening. The hosts have more tourist information than you can ever review so you don't need to take any with you. They also had our parking pass which is required for parking on the streets in that area.
All in all, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a wonderful home graced with Spanish water dog Teddy and his buddy, feline Fred. I enjoyed a lovely 3rd floor room with bay window--see photo-that looks over Constitution Avenue. The room is lovely and clean and indeed was quite relaxing. The proprietors are welcoming and quite helpful. With their encouragement I tried the Capital Bikeshare program nearby and biked all over the Mall. I had wonderful, made-to-order breakfasts and the whole key entry thing is simplified for the traveler's benefit.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I used a map and thought for a while where I would be spending my time before I selected my spot. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, departing Sunday 14th October. It is just a great place, great position, only a few minutes to public transport or you can walk to Capitol Hill, a corner store, pub, restaurants, takeaway food only a few mins away. Simon looked after us very well cooked delicious breakfasts and the house is very cosy, roomy , you feel very comfortable,the bed, bathroom all perfect, more like visiting good friends who have a nice house. We really enjoyed Washington DC and recommend to stay a minimum of 5 nights to really enjoy the various parts of the city. There is a lot to see and enjoy and more relaxing when you are in a nice local quiet street.

Room Tip: There is just one room and it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having stayed at the "Apple Tree Inn" recently I can strongly recommend it to anybody looking for affordable and yet very comfortable accommodation in Washington D.C. The hosts do their best to make you truly feel at home in their beautiful house in a friendly and leafy neighbourhood. Breakfast was excellent, the rooms tidy and clean, informations helpful and accurate. The attractive Eastern Market is but fifteen minutes away and the perfect spot to experience every day life scenes in D.C. There are lots of restaurants, bars and cafés to choose from. If you are into art, the museums on the mall are in walking distance or can be reached by metro. Should you travel to Washington by train, the "Apple Tree Inn" is ideally located for you. Union Station is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watseka, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Over the years we have stayed at a few dozen B&B's and of those we would rate
Apple Tree Inn among the top two or three. The accommodations, location, and detail attentive hosts made for a great week. Friendly foot warmer Teddy and elegant aloof Freddy were added attractions.

We'll be recommending Apple Tree Inn to friends planning a DC visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

On a recent visit to D.C., we had the extreme pleasure of staying with Simon, Robyn, Teddy and Freddy at the Apple Tree Inn. After landing, we boarded the Metro (luggage and all) and went to the Pentagon. There we were able to purchase senior passes, a big savings for our 5 day visit!. Upon returning, the Inn is very close to the metro, affording very easy transportation to sight see. Simon, Robyn, Teddy and Freddy are the perfect hosts, providing a welcoming and comfortable "home" away from home. It was soooo fun visiting over the wonderful breakfast each day. The patio provided the perfect atmosphere. We absolutely LOVED every moment and so much appreciated the great hospitality in an inpeccably clean, very comfortable home. Our visit could NOT have been better thanks to the close proximity and atmosphere provided by our great hosts.... We visited many places, walking, using the Metro, and the Trolley and will visit again.... thanks so much for the great memories!!!

Room Tip: Since there is only one guestroom, this is a 'no brainer'. We LOVED being the only guests i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The perfect home away from home. Simon and Robyn were excellent hosts - they were helpful with information about the Washington sights and breakfast in the garden was enjoyable. The location was close to Capitol Hill. I would recommend this B & B to everyone and would love to re-visit if we are in Washington again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 5th and Constitution Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list