We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Tree Inn
5th and Constitution Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002 (Capitol Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Basel
1 review
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having stayed at the "Apple Tree Inn" recently I can strongly recommend it to anybody looking for affordable and yet very comfortable accommodation in Washington D.C. The hosts do their best to make you truly feel at home in their beautiful house in a friendly and leafy neighbourhood. Breakfast was excellent, the rooms tidy and clean, informations helpful and accurate. The attractive Eastern Market is but fifteen minutes away and the perfect spot to experience every day life scenes in D.C. There are lots of restaurants, bars and cafés to choose from. If you are into art, the museums on the mall are in walking distance or can be reached by metro. Should you travel to Washington by train, the "Apple Tree Inn" is ideally located for you. Union Station is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watseka, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Over the years we have stayed at a few dozen B&B's and of those we would rate
Apple Tree Inn among the top two or three. The accommodations, location, and detail attentive hosts made for a great week. Friendly foot warmer Teddy and elegant aloof Freddy were added attractions.

We'll be recommending Apple Tree Inn to friends planning a DC visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

On a recent visit to D.C., we had the extreme pleasure of staying with Simon, Robyn, Teddy and Freddy at the Apple Tree Inn. After landing, we boarded the Metro (luggage and all) and went to the Pentagon. There we were able to purchase senior passes, a big savings for our 5 day visit!. Upon returning, the Inn is very close to the metro, affording very easy transportation to sight see. Simon, Robyn, Teddy and Freddy are the perfect hosts, providing a welcoming and comfortable "home" away from home. It was soooo fun visiting over the wonderful breakfast each day. The patio provided the perfect atmosphere. We absolutely LOVED every moment and so much appreciated the great hospitality in an inpeccably clean, very comfortable home. Our visit could NOT have been better thanks to the close proximity and atmosphere provided by our great hosts.... We visited many places, walking, using the Metro, and the Trolley and will visit again.... thanks so much for the great memories!!!

Room Tip: Since there is only one guestroom, this is a 'no brainer'. We LOVED being the only guests i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The perfect home away from home. Simon and Robyn were excellent hosts - they were helpful with information about the Washington sights and breakfast in the garden was enjoyable. The location was close to Capitol Hill. I would recommend this B & B to everyone and would love to re-visit if we are in Washington again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

What a wonderful introduction to Washington! Our visit was made extra special by our time at Apple Tree Inn. Simon and Robyn could not have been better hosts, Teddy and Freddy were also very welcoming. Breakfast in the walled garden was a treat, the bedroom was amazingly comfortable, the interiors were beautiful and best of all the house in the BEST location for visiting all of the attractions of Capitol Hill, the Mall and is within walking distance of Union Station. Absolutely recommend this as THE place to stay in Washington!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a wonderful place! A lovely room and own bathroom, they really have thought of everything you could want .. wireless internet access, great breakfasts, friendly and helpful! I recommend Simon and Robyn's to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better stay then Simon and Robyn's B&B. Our hosts were very generous and always helpful, making our time in Washington memorable. The house is wonderfully decorated with personal touches and their pets 'Teddy and Freddy' make it feel like home. The room has better amenities than you would expect at a hotel and the location makes it perfect to see the sights of the city. Thank you again for the perfect stay.

ps. make sure you try Simon's bacon and eggs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 5th and Constitution Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Apple Tree Inn to your Saves list