We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo to a charming home in the nation's capitol.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Beas Little White House B&B
Save
You added Aunt Beas Little White House B&B to your Saves list
3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Bravo to a charming home in the nation's capitol.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Charming, comfortable and delicious. The little white house was spotless, charming and a comfortable place away from home. The proprietor was gracious, helpful and made a a healthy breakfast each day. My room was comfortable and quiet. The shared bathroom clean and always available when needed. Who could ask for anything more. Thanks aunt Bea.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

This place looks better than it is. Firstly, there is no Aunt Bea. Instead there's a guy that is a little bit peculiar. The room itself had an exposed wiring next to the bed. The pillows were the worst I've ever used.

The shower was broken and wouldn't turn on. Then, once on it wouldn't turn off. Then, the only thing worse than having a faulty shower is having to get the aforementioned strange man to help you when you're half naked.

To his credit the breakfast was Ok.

The location of the house is pretty poor-- though it does increase your chance if being on ab episode of 'Cops'.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentonvac, Manager at Aunt Beas Little White House B&B, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
I am truly sorry that the shower broke down. A plumber was summoned to repair this the following morning. This was unfortunate and the guest seemed to understand this could happen anywhere. I have looked carefully and can find NO electrical wires exposed, the pillows are all in very good shape and I would promptly replace anything that was not. As for as personalty comments made by the guest- I suppose those are in the eye of the beholder. What really has me confused is none of this except the plumbing problem was brought to my attention and if it had been I would have done what ever the guest requested to solve it. I will continue to endevaor to please each guest and correct anything that is brought to my attention. Sincerely, Gerald, innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This comfortable B&B is located about 2 blocks from the metro, which quickly took us all over Washington, DC. We parked our car for free nearby and used public transportation exclusively.

Our host served a good breakfast and gave good advice about parking, the Metro, and local attractions.

The area is mixed business and residential, and is safe to walk around, even at night. There's one Tex-Mex restaurant nearby, and a couple of stores selling groceries that took to our room to make light suppers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed here with a friend a few weeks ago. The owner is incredibly kind and the house is so charming!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao Pessoa, PB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed one night in Aunt Beas B&B and all I can say is that I was absolutely stunned by the quality of the service and sleep I got there, which were much appreciated after DC remarkably long walks. Climatization is just perfect, you got a nice tub in order to get a replenishing hot bath and the combination of a good matress and a quiet neighborhood makes it perfect to anyone refill their batteries.The staff is excelent and very caring, the breakfast is amazing and I still can`t believe that I paid that less. Don`t waste your money in $100+ hostels with poor service and rooms. Aunt Beas is by far the best value you can get for less than that price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

A pleasant four minute walk from the metro Red Line CUA station (very very convenient if you've arrived by Bolt bus (which is close to the Chinatown stop) or Union Station), Aunt Beas is located in a sweet old neighborhood of detached homes with small front yards. Decorated in the "shabby chic" style, my room had a mini fridge, TV and comfortable bed. (Shared a modern bath.) Everything was very clean. Gerald -- the thoughtful and hard-working host -- had placed a jar of small roses on the bed table (nice touch). Breakfast began with orange juice and an excellent fruit salad; hard-boild eggs, turkey bacon, toast, yoghurt, cereal -- as you wished. There was a computer to check email in breakfast room. As a B&B, I appreciated that I could arrive late in the evening (10:00 p.m.) my first evening. I have already recommended it to a friend -- hope to return myself on my next visit to DC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Aunt Beas is a charming little home in a neighbourhood not too far from the centre of DC (about 4 mins walk to the subway & then only a few stops from Union Station). The owner Gerald is very friendly & approachable & cooks a yummy, healthy breakfast for you each morning (which after a month of fried food, was perfect for us!) We found the hostel (really more like a b&b) to be very quiet, clean & adequate, we will def reccommend to friends & would stay again! Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aunt Beas Little White House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

Address: 3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and cozy inn located two blocks from the red line metro and 15 minutes from DuPont Circle. Close to Catholic University and 10 minutes to Union Station. Complimentary fully cooked breakfast included with your stay. Located in the NE section of DC commercial and residential neighborhood - very safe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aunt Beas Little White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aunt Beas Little White House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Beas Little White House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.