We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further. It is the best value for your money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Beas Little White House B&B
Save Saved
You added Aunt Beas Little White House B&B to your Saves list
3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Joao Pessoa, PB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look no further. It is the best value for your money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed one night in Aunt Beas B&B and all I can say is that I was absolutely stunned by the quality of the service and sleep I got there, which were much appreciated after DC remarkably long walks. Climatization is just perfect, you got a nice tub in order to get a replenishing hot bath and the combination of a good matress and a quiet neighborhood makes it perfect to anyone refill their batteries.The staff is excelent and very caring, the breakfast is amazing and I still can`t believe that I paid that less. Don`t waste your money in $100+ hostels with poor service and rooms. Aunt Beas is by far the best value you can get for less than that price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

A pleasant four minute walk from the metro Red Line CUA station (very very convenient if you've arrived by Bolt bus (which is close to the Chinatown stop) or Union Station), Aunt Beas is located in a sweet old neighborhood of detached homes with small front yards. Decorated in the "shabby chic" style, my room had a mini fridge, TV and comfortable bed. (Shared a modern bath.) Everything was very clean. Gerald -- the thoughtful and hard-working host -- had placed a jar of small roses on the bed table (nice touch). Breakfast began with orange juice and an excellent fruit salad; hard-boild eggs, turkey bacon, toast, yoghurt, cereal -- as you wished. There was a computer to check email in breakfast room. As a B&B, I appreciated that I could arrive late in the evening (10:00 p.m.) my first evening. I have already recommended it to a friend -- hope to return myself on my next visit to DC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Aunt Beas is a charming little home in a neighbourhood not too far from the centre of DC (about 4 mins walk to the subway & then only a few stops from Union Station). The owner Gerald is very friendly & approachable & cooks a yummy, healthy breakfast for you each morning (which after a month of fried food, was perfect for us!) We found the hostel (really more like a b&b) to be very quiet, clean & adequate, we will def reccommend to friends & would stay again! Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at Aunt Bea’s for 6 nights and can’t recommend it highly enough! It’s comfy, clean, cozy and charming and feels just like a home away from home. Gerald’s hospitality is second-to-none: his tips on where to go and what to do in DC are great and the breakfasts he cooks up are incredibly tasty, healthy and filling. Located an easy 5 minute walk from the Brookland-CUA Metro station and within a little neighbourhood shopping area, you definitely won’t be disappointed staying here. Thanks Gerald, we loved our stay and we’ll miss your excellent breakfasts and morning chats! Hugh & Stephanie

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We booked this B&B through hostels.com and chose it based on its cost and location. We had originally been looking for a hotel in downtown and discovered that they were all really expensive so we headed to hostels.com.

This B&B is located 5 minutes or so walking distance from the Brookland CUA Metro Station. The station is on the red line, which is really convenient, as all the major sights are located on red line line stops. The Metro also goes to the airport, which saved us a lot of time and money when it was time to leave.

We loved this B&B! The location was great and the host and owner, Gerald, was fantastic! He was so nice and friendly and was always happy to provide advice on the sights. He also provided us a great breakfast every morning that was quite healthy consisted of fruit, yoghurt, eggs, turkey bacon, juice and coffee! The beds were really comfy and the room and bathroom were clean. We also had nice fluffy towels! Gerald also provided bottled water, which was great. Gerald was also happy for us to use his wi-fi for free.

We booked this B&B quite close to the date and the room we wanted wasn't available for all 3 nights we wanted, so we booked a different room for the third night. Gerald was very accommodating and helped us move rooms on the last day. The first room we stayed in was the deluxe twin private and the second was the basic double bed. For an extra $10 or so I would recommend staying in the deluxe twin private. The basic double bed was still lovely, but the deluxe room was a lot larger and had a little fridge.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The host was most pleasant & accommodating; we had a fascinating chat over breakfast. My room was clean and very charming, with the bathroom down the hall. I loved being a few minutes' walk from the Metro (Brookland stop), and my visit to the Franciscan Monastery (and beautiful gardens) nearby was richly rewarding. Breakfast was perfect: fresh fruit, muffins, eggs and yogurt. The house is located on a mixed residential - commercial block of 12th Street but it was very peaceful. I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Restaurants, small stores, and Metro stop within walkable distances. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aunt Beas Little White House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

Address: 3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and cozy inn located two blocks from the red line metro and 15 minutes from DuPont Circle. Close to Catholic University and 10 minutes to Union Station. Complimentary fully cooked breakfast included with your stay. Located in the NE section of DC commercial and residential neighborhood - very safe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aunt Beas Little White House Bed And Breakfast
Aunt Beas Little White House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Beas Little White House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.