We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Beas Little White House B&B
Save Saved
You added Aunt Beas Little White House B&B to your Saves list
3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Character and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Aunt Beas is a fantastic find in Washington, very friendly and cosy. We stayed for two nights and found it to be a great location for our short trip to the capital. The room was comfortable and clean and Gerard and Joan were very friendly and helpful hosts and we stayed up late on the front porch on our first night learning about life in America - we were on holiday from Great Britain.
The breakfast was very good and set us up for a long day sightseeing. We would recommend staying here if you are looking for a B and B with lots of character and charm.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We lived two persons in three days in Juli in The Little White House. The room was cozy, clean and nice with a good bed. It was a few minutes from red Metro line. Joan was most nice and helpful. She made a lovely breakfast. We can really recommend the room for other travelers. We come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here on July 4th and 5th. The Host was not in town, but he had another person taking care of the place. First of all the room and bathroom was very clean. The person in charge was very helpful with information about the area and the City of DC. The neiborhood was safe too. I was hoping for a small refriguator in the room, no luck. They gave us 2 bottles of water in the room but we did not have anyplace to keep them cold. The host in charge had a small dog in the breakfast room, jumping and licking our legs. I love dogs but not while I am eating at the breakfast table. The breakfast was 1 cold egg cut into quarters, 2 pieces of microwaved turkey bacon, (not crisp) a large bowl of cut up fruit, (prunes, apples, melon, and pineapple) with yogurt and 4 slices of rasion toast, fruit juice and coffee. On the second day, same food only we had some quests of another kind ANTS all over the breakfast table. My fruit bowl was covered in ants, I was brushing ants off the table cloth right and left. All our host was saying was she left the jam on the table over night and not to worry because they were not in the food. I looked on the floor and the ants were crawling everywhere. I couldn't eat a thing. I felt like I had ants all over me. I do not believe this was an on going event, but our host should have seen them before we sat down. Maybe the person who runs this place would have took better care of us, I would recommend give him a chance, not someone else. Such a shame because she was really helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed there for four nights and found it to be very clean and well run. Instructions given on how to get from the airport to the B&B proved easy to follow and extremely convenient for me considering it was my first time. The advice Gerald gave, saved time when it came to experiencing Washington DC. Breakfasts set you up for the day and when there was time it proved very interesting to talk to Gerald. The Metro is only 5 minutes walk away as is the bus system if you choose to use it. There is a range of good eating places in the neighbourhood which cover a variety of different cuisines. There was also a safe feeling when walking around the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The wife and I stayed here during the Cherry Blossom Festival so it was quite a treat to be able to get out of the city and relax. The owner Gerald is one in a million and his breakfasts leave you stuffed until dinner!! The Metro is super close and while the neighborhood is a bit of an adventure, we had no problems at all! Good Chinese takeout next-door so you don't have to travel for a good meal after you've walked the mall all day. We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After travelling for a while in hostels you will want to settle down with some comforts that remind of you home... this is it! Gerald is the man who runs the place and he is super friendly. He'll make you breakfast (healthy and plentiful!), he'll give you the low-down on the best way to see the city and answer any questions you may have. The rooms are brilliant - super clean and comfortable with TV, mini-fridge and aircon. Although there are no cooking facilities to use there's a few places to eat nearby and you'll be out and about for most of the time anyway.

It's a short walk to the metro station which links up with Union Station & Amtrak so it only takes about 20 minutes from there to the national mall.

Overall probably one of the best places I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: It's in a house so there's only a few rooms to choose from and I imagine they're all as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

It's refreshing to find a place that offers value for money with charm and character. We stayed in May 2011 and wish to reaffirm how pleased we were with our stay. I have read a comment of a guest feeling unsafe in the area. This neighborhood is no different to any other place I have stayed- the comment comes from a lone traveller and general precautions should always be taken when alone. The host is delightful, helpful and genuine, being a wonderful resource for DC.The rooms are comfortable and clean with no frills. My partner who loves the 5 star comforts was more than happy to stay in this true gem of a B and B

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aunt Beas Little White House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

Address: 3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and cozy inn located two blocks from the red line metro and 15 minutes from DuPont Circle. Close to Catholic University and 10 minutes to Union Station. Complimentary fully cooked breakfast included with your stay. Located in the NE section of DC commercial and residential neighborhood - very safe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aunt Beas Little White House Bed And Breakfast
Aunt Beas Little White House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Beas Little White House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.