We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Blown away by the service and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Beas Little White House B&B
Save Saved
You added Aunt Beas Little White House B&B to your Saves list
3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Blown away by the service and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After travelling for a while in hostels you will want to settle down with some comforts that remind of you home... this is it! Gerald is the man who runs the place and he is super friendly. He'll make you breakfast (healthy and plentiful!), he'll give you the low-down on the best way to see the city and answer any questions you may have. The rooms are brilliant - super clean and comfortable with TV, mini-fridge and aircon. Although there are no cooking facilities to use there's a few places to eat nearby and you'll be out and about for most of the time anyway.

It's a short walk to the metro station which links up with Union Station & Amtrak so it only takes about 20 minutes from there to the national mall.

Overall probably one of the best places I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: It's in a house so there's only a few rooms to choose from and I imagine they're all as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

It's refreshing to find a place that offers value for money with charm and character. We stayed in May 2011 and wish to reaffirm how pleased we were with our stay. I have read a comment of a guest feeling unsafe in the area. This neighborhood is no different to any other place I have stayed- the comment comes from a lone traveller and general precautions should always be taken when alone. The host is delightful, helpful and genuine, being a wonderful resource for DC.The rooms are comfortable and clean with no frills. My partner who loves the 5 star comforts was more than happy to stay in this true gem of a B and B

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Our stay at Aunt Bea's Little White House proved to be a wonderful experience. We spent four nights there and we were totally satisfied with our accomodations. It is a lovely home with the greatest inn keeper, Gerald. He prepared breakfast every morning for us and what a breakfast it was. It kept us going throughout our busy days. Gerald was very helpful with ideas on where to go for dinner and the best routes to take to get into the city. One of the other positive points was how close it is to the metro station. We can't say enough about Gerald and his pleasant manner and willingness to help in any way. There should be more like him in this business. We highly recommend Aunt Bea's for anyone on a budget but at the same time looking for a nice place to stay. Evelyn & Joe

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Aunt Bea's Little White House is both charming and economical. My boyfriend and I stayed there for a week and it was a wonderful experience. The house is really cute and the neighborhood is quiet we didn't have any complaints. It is really close to the metro station which means that you can get anywhere you want to go very easily. Gerald is really nice and accomadating; he goes out of his way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. During the hurricane he couldn't make breakfast one morning because the power went out briefly, and he reimbursed us for the breakfast we bought, which was very thoughtful of him. He can tell you the best way to get around town if you need directions. Everyone at Aunt Bea's values your privacy and the rooms are super comfortable. I highly reccomend it for any traveler on a budget, and I hope to stay there again next time we visit Washington DC! Thanks, Gerald, for your kindness and sorry it took us so long to post this review. You deserved to get it from us sooner. :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Must echo everyone else's reviews on this one - Gerald is a great host and makes you feel most welcome to this lovely B & B in a great neighbourhood. Our room was very homely and the tv, fridge and seating are great. If I would add anything, it would be a kettle, couple of mugs and a few sachets of coffee, tea, creamer as there is no access to the kitchen and therefore no hot drinks from one breakfast to the next. Otherwise we were very comfortable here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Cannot fault this place & Gerald is the most helpful person. On arrival he went through how to get around Washington & gave us tips on where to go which we found extremely helpful. The location isnt central but is only a short walk to the tube station. The rooms are spacious & the, shared, bathroom is clean.
Would stay again if i went back to Washington

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I highly reccommend this accommodation in Washington, DC:

My room and the bathroom were very clean. The breakfast was great and the perfect beginning of a long day exploring the city. It's just a short ride to Union Station by Metro and the owner of the B&B is very friendly and helpful!
I also enjoyed the free internet access (wireless) and the TV in my room to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aunt Beas Little White House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Beas Little White House B&B

Address: 3619 12th St NE, Washington DC, DC 20017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and cozy inn located two blocks from the red line metro and 15 minutes from DuPont Circle. Close to Catholic University and 10 minutes to Union Station. Complimentary fully cooked breakfast included with your stay. Located in the NE section of DC commercial and residential neighborhood - very safe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aunt Beas Little White House Bed And Breakfast
Aunt Beas Little White House Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Beas Little White House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.