We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place to wander through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United States Botanic Garden

United States Botanic Garden
100 Maryland Ave. at First St. SW, At the east end of the Mall, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)
202/225-8333
Website
Improve this listing
Visit United States Botanic Garden like an insider
Special Offer
$48*
and up
Big Bus Washington DC Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #36 of 472 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A truly green spectacle, with a jungle, a National Garden with a First Ladies water garden, a rose garden and exhibits on ecology and evolutionary biology.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Laval, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning place to wander through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The massive collection of plants around the world is mind blowing.

For plant enthusiasts, this is a MUST SEE.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    258
    61
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hidden away, but a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

it's difficult to get to the botanical garden, but it has a fantastic collection of water lilies and related plants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“An oasis in the Middle of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am partial to Botanical Gardens, and this one is no exception. It has an excellent collection which is nicely displayed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful even in the Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I can't attest to the outdoor grounds, as it was winter when we visited, but the greenhouses are stunning. My favorite part was going to the top of the second level of the jungle. I could spend all winter there. On a sunny day you can feel the warmth of climate controllers and almost believe it's summer...until you step outside. I think it's easy to skip through this and go 'Hey, plants.' If you really take your time to orient yourself to each room, there's a lot to see and learn. They have collections of plants from all over the world and work hard to put information that the public might see as relevant near them (medicinal properties, place in the eco system, etc). DO NOT MISS THE ORCHIDS. They have a whole room dedicated to the orchids. SO many beautiful and difficult to grow blooms. The cactus garden made me feel at home! I can't wait to go back when the outdoor gardens are in full bloom.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Giant Bouquet of Joy and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Garden is a nice size- you can whip through in under 30 minutes or take your time and be there for a few hours. They have a wide variety of plants- Desert, Jungle, Medicinal, Hawaii, Orchids, even a Children's Garden. The canopy walk in the Jungle section was a favorite. They had a 'sensitive plant', which I think is one of the coolest plants out there! The whole place smells wonderful and there is calming music playing throughout.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to United States Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.