We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best before Easter and when they have the orchid exhibit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of United States Botanic Garden

United States Botanic Garden
100 Maryland Ave. at First St. SW, At the east end of the Mall, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)
202/225-8333
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #23 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Fountains, Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A truly green spectacle, with a jungle, a National Garden with a First Ladies water garden, a rose garden and exhibits on ecology and evolutionary biology.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best before Easter and when they have the orchid exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I love to walk around here the week before Easter, or even Easter weekend to see the displays of spring flowers. Best to go when they have the orchid exhibits--unbelievably beautiful orchids in many wonderful varieties.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    211
    51
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is one place I always go whenever i'm in DC. It's so beautiful and it changes depending on the season. They always highlight the plants in bloom at the time. It's very educational and has rooms where you can learn where certain spices come from or how they make certain products. I love this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Every Season it Changes Dramatically”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a place! I go once a month and just go through. You can grab a book and sit in the outside garden to read, as well. The interior rooms change shows regularly. My favorite is the trains at Christmas. Its free and near the Capitol reflecting ponds...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fragrant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Botanic Gardens, and were well pleased with the special Orchid exhibit we saw. Just walking into the room you can smell the myriad fragrances of the blossoms. The set up of the special exhibit worked very well - trees and hanging plants along the outside, with the more exquisite specimens in the center, near a misting pool to keep their humidity levels up. The lighting and presentations encouraged my inner photographer!

The jungle section was full of interesting stuff at every turn, and I especially enjoyed traveling up and down to the different levels of the exhibit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful in Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great place to rest, have a snack and enjoy people watching and smelling the plants and flowers. Located in the center of the mall, don't just skip over this place!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Botanic Garden also viewed

 

Been to United States Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.