We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Meets the Eye.....Literally” 4 of 5 stars
Review of United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center

United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center
701 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004 (Downtown / Chinatown)
+1 202/737-2300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley...
Ranked #73 of 234 Attractions in Washington DC
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A statue of The Lone Sailor peers over this memorial, which consists of a plaza bearing a granite world map flanked by waterfalls and fountains. The heritage center contains exhibits on naval history.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“More Than Meets the Eye.....Literally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Full disclosure: active duty Navy. Visited the courtyard many years ago but, until I attended a retirement ceremony on Friday, I never realized the Heritage Center was even there. The courtyard is the real attraction with the water feature, historical depictions, and the like. Incredible display. The majority of the Heritage Center is downstairs. It's not big but it's well represented. The current display honors Women in the Military and it's very well done. There's a large "ship's store" (Navy speak for gift shop) with a nice selection of memorabilia. All in all, a very worthwhile visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Surprising simple of elegant memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We "stumbled" upon this memorial as we exited the Metro. Having been a Navy family (My Dad) for 27 years it was a surprising find. Its really laid out nicely with some incredible stone relief displays depicting a variety of Navy related themes. The lone sailor in the middle area was incredibly moving. The mast and water features are well connected. The heritage center was a nice walk through of Naval history. I recommend stopping by and taking in a fine salute to the Navy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Loved this memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This memorial is more in the town area versus the mall area of DC. The memorial is really cool because it has fountains and nautical related themes (as one would expect).

It's beautiful to be sure, but the coolest part to me, was that one of the fountains has the water from 7 different seas in it.......not sure there's any other place on earth you can put your hand in 7 different seas in one spot!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Only Saw the Memorial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I only saw the Navy Memorial but enjoyed it immensely. It is essentially a granite map of the world, showing just how much of it is covered in water, amplifying the importance of a powerful navy, which was what helps the United States play such a dominant role in world affairs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Preparing for Boot Camp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My son has joined the Navy and we took this trip to see as much as possible that related to the Navy as he prepares for boot camp Sept. 8th, 2013. He enjoyed this but was expecting a bit of a larger display. For the history buff it still has a lot of old time readings and displays that re well worth he trip. And it's free!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.