We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington Cathedral” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington National Cathedral

Washington National Cathedral
Massachusetts and Wisconsin Aves. NW, Entrance on Wisconsin Ave., Washington DC, DC (Upper Northwest)
202 537 6207
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Washington National Cathedral like an insider
Special Offer
$78*
and up
Washington DC Super Saver: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley...
Ranked #23 of 471 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Gothic-style cathedral is the sixth largest in the world and is put to all sorts of national purposes, such as President Wilsons funeral and a prayer vigil for American hostages during the Iranian crisis.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Washington Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent cathedral similar to the ones in Europe. Includes the tomb for Helen Keller. Note: There was previously no entrance fee; that changes as of the first of the year. Still worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,075
    294
    80
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Make the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thhis is a beautiful cathederal! If you are in DC on a Sunday, go to the service and get the entire experience. In addition to the interesting history and beautiful building, the cathederal is situated in a BEAUTIFUL section of the city... a great get away from the concrete and marble of the DC that everyone sees.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to tour in DC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My mom and cousin were in town recently and we went to the Washington National Cathedral as part of a tour of DC. It was cold that day, so were looking for some things to do inside. I scheduled a special tour as part of their Veterans Day program. This $10 tour was fantastic and I'm sure the other ones are interesting as well. It took about 1.5 hours. We had a veteran tour guide (35+ years) who did a great job. I believe her name was June, and she was VERY knowledgeable. There is so much history and iconography in this house of worship.

Make sure if you take any of the paid tours you roam around afterwards on your own and check out a few things up close. Be sure also to check out the gift shops. There are 2 of them, a much larger one downstairs.

The only negative I can think of is the underground parking price (I believe it was $16-$20). You might be able to park on the street during off-peak times or take the metro. Other than that, it was well worth the time. There is a children's chapel, but for the most part, I think this is an adult thing to do. I found it very interesting, but young children might get bored after a while unless they are in a special tour program/group designed for kids.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Try to make time to see the Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our own Gothic (style) cathedral. Awe-inspiring. I am not a Christian but that doesn't matter. The stained glass windows are beautiful and interesting. We took the tour & tea (view from the top level is worth the trip) and enjoyed it all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Beautiful architecture. Beautiful stained glass. Awesome acoustics! We attended Sunday mass. The mass itself was a typical Episcopal mass. It was really interesting to look at the various remembrances around the sides of the main cathedral area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington National Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Washington National Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington National Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.