We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Late Review (Dec. 2011) - Nice Theater & Entertaining Play” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare Theatre Company

Shakespeare Theatre Company
610 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-2201 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202.547.1122
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shakespeare Theatre Company produces and presents award-winning plays in its two venues in downtown Washington D.C., attracting many theatre-goers from D.C., Maryland, Virginia and from around the world. As a non-profit arts organization our education programs bring classical theatre experiences, critical discussions and vital academic resources into area schools and communities. We also host a number of other arts organizations who perform world class dance, music, and much more.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Late Review (Dec. 2011) - Nice Theater & Entertaining Play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I am very late sending this review but am doing so, anyway. My boyfriend and I attended this theater, for the first time, in December 2011 to see "Much Ado About Nothing". The play was very entertaining (great acting) and had a new spin to it, which was nicely done. This newish theater looks really nice inside. We attended a Saturday matinee and got tickets (which were reasonably priced) the day of the performance (box office staff was friendly) and our seats were in an area where we could see the stage very well. The theater is conveniently located and there is are Metro subway stops close by. There is also metered street parking (hard to find empty spaces often times) and public parking garages (prices vary). There are several restaurants close by (can't remember if the theater has their own restaurant inside).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well performed, seats very uncomfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

And here I thought the airlines crammed people in! The show was excellent - a modern version of Two Gentlemen of Verona. Creative, the actors were personable (even did a little adlib acting when a patron's cell phone went off). But... and this is huge for me... the seating was so cramped I literally couldn't put my legs in front of me - I had to sit with my legs spread apart so they fit on either side of the seat in front of me. I doubt I'll be back again in this theatre - there are other stages performing Shakespeare that are much more comfortable. Oh, and the stairs down to the restroom and the drinking fountain are very long and steep. The woman I was with couldn't make it down and up all those stairs. They really need to put a drinking fountain upstairs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin A, Public Relations Manager at Shakespeare Theatre Company, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We're sorry to say that you've got the wrong theatre. Judging from your review it seems that you meant to post for the Folger Shakespeare Library who presented THE TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA you attended (ended May 25, 2014). Hope you'll visit our theatre soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Measure for Measure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

An upbeat production for today's modern audience. The show introduced a cabaret show (how risque) before the play unfolded.
We left with big smiles and gave kudos to the brave cast & director!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun Performance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had really wanted to see Shakespeare, but the Harry Potter spoof was a lot of fun and the facilities are very good. You can walk from the National Mall if you wish.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum, is FUNNY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

They have jazzed up the show and made old time "slap Stick" humor relevant--actually, the show delivers frequent belly laughs. It is a bit expensive, but this is one of the best productions the Theatre has done in the last few years.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare Theatre Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.